AVMA Excellence Awards

Group of people laughing



AVMA awards:
Powered by you

Your nominations help us reward excellence. Review descriptions of the individual awards, and consider which of your colleagues deserve to be nominated. Nominations for 2021 awards are now closed.


Important dates and deadlines

Nominations Open: November 13, 2020

Nominations Deadline: February 17, 2021

Nomination Review: March/April 2021

Notification: May 2021

The veterinary profession thrives with esteemed members of our community who have dedicated themselves and their careers to a diverse range of disciplines—agriculture, public health, humane education, animal welfare, clinical practice and research, government activities, professional education, and more.

The AVMA Excellence Awards program is an annual process honoring these individuals for their contributions to both animal and human health. There are awards to recognize excellence in every aspect of veterinary medicine. They honor educators, researchers, clinical practitioners, veterinary advocates, and those who are not veterinarians but whose work has contributed significantly to advancing veterinary medicine. The variety of awards shows the breadth of veterinary medicine, the diversity of veterinary careers, and the many ways in which veterinary professionals protect both animal and human health.

AVMA recognizes individuals with awards spanning the following areas:

  • Advocacy and public service
  • Animal welfare
  • Education and research
  • International affairs
  • Volunteerism and leadership

All award recipients are presented with a crystal award celebrating their achievements at a time and location designated by AVMA. Award recipients will be announced in a press release and highlighted on the AVMA website, social media, and e-newsletter, as well as in JAVMA.

2020 AVMA Excellence Awards Recipients

Advocacy and public service

AVMA Advocacy Award




Dr. Mo SalmanAVMA Public Service Award

Dr. Mo Salman, DVM, MPVM, PhD, DACVPM, F.A.C.E

Animal Welfare

Dr. Janice SiegfordAVMA Humane Award

Dr. Janice Siegford, MS, PhD

Dr. Harry WernerAVMA Animal Welfare Award

Dr. Harry W. Werner, VMD

Dr. Robin DowningBustad Companion Animal Veterinarian of the Year Award


Education and Research

Dr. Timothy FanAVMA Career Achievement in Canine Research Award

Dr. Timothy M. Fan, DVM, PhD, DACVIM

Dr. Anthony BlikslagerAVMA Clinical Research Award

Dr. Anthony Blikslager, DVM, PhD

Dr. Richard BowenAVMA Lifetime Excellence in Research Award

Dr. Richard Bowen, DVM, PhD

International affairs

Dr. David CastellanAVMA Global Veterinary Service Award

Dr. David M. Castellan, DVM, MPVM, ACVPM, ACPV

Volunteerism and leadership

Dr. Bonnie BeaverThe AVMA Award

Dr. Bonnie V. Beaver, BS, DVM, MS, DSc(hon), DPNAP, DACVB, DACAW

Dr. John PoppeAVMA Meritorious Service Award

Dr. John Poppe, DVM, MPH, DACVPM

President's Awards

Dr. William MaherPresident’s Award #1

Dr. William (Bill) Maher, DVM

Dr. Clark Kenneth FobianPresident’s Award #2

Dr. Clark Kenneth Fobian, DVM


Previous award winners: 2019