AVMA volunteer leaders


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the administrative body of the Association. The 18-member board is comprised of the president, president-elect, immediate past president, vice president, treasurer (non-voting), one representative from each of 11 geographic districts elected by the veterinarians residing in that district, the House Advisory Committee chair (non-voting), and the Student AVMA president (non-voting).

  • Board of Directors Chair 2023-2024 — Chuck Lemme, DVM
  • Board of Directors Vice Chair 2023-2024 — Robert Knapp, DVM
  • Amanda Bisol, VMD — District 1
    Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont
  • Erin Casey, DVM — District 2
    Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Virginia
  • Mary Ergen, DVM — District 3
    Alabama, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee
  • Seyedmehdi Mobini, DVM, MS, DACT — District 4
    Florida, Georgia, and Puerto Rico
  • Robert Knapp, DVM — District 5
    Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and West Virginia
  • Jim Weisman, DVM — District 6
    Illinois, Indiana, and Wisconsin
  • Chuck Lemme, DVM — District 7
    Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota
  • Sam Miller, DVM — District 8
    Arkansas, Louisiana, and Texas
  • Melanie Marsden, DVM — District 9
    Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Utah
  • Richard Sullivan, DVM — District 10
    California, Hawaii, and Nevada
  • Sandy Willis, DVM, MVSc, DACVIM — District 11
    Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, and Wyoming
  • Libby Todd, DVM — House Advisory Committee Chair, invited participant
  • Max Paulson — Student AVMA President, invited participant

House of Delegates

The House of Delegates is composed of AVMA members from 70 state, territorial, and allied veterinary medical groups. Association policies are set by the House of Delegates, made up of one delegate and one alternate delegate from each organization represented. The House of Delegates convenes each summer at the AVMA Annual Convention and each winter at the Veterinary Leadership Conference.

View the HOD Directory

House Advisory Committee

The House Advisory Committee consists of seven members elected by the House of Delegates to advise and make recommendations to the House of Delegates and Board of Directors, and to review and approve the credentials of candidates for President, President-Elect, Vice President, councils, and the House Advisory Committee. The following individuals compose the House Advisory Committee:

  • Chair—Libby Todd, DVM, Birmingham, Alabama—Representing at-large
  • Vice Chair—Juan Ameiro-Puig, DVM, San Juan, Puerto Rico—Representing at-large
  • Lindy O'Neal, DVM, Rogers, Arkansas—Representing at-large
  • Stuart Brown, DVM, Versailles, Kentucky—Representing at-large
  • Diana Thome, DVM, Richland, Washington—Representing at-large
  • Theresa Kelliher, DVM, Kearney, Nebraska—Representing at-large
  • Douglas McInnis, DVM, Klamath Falls, Oregon—Representing at-large


View all AVMA leadership rosters