AVMA Clinical Research Award


AVMA awards:
Powered by you

Your nominations help us reward excellence. Review descriptions of the individual awards, and consider which of your colleagues deserve to be nominated.

Learn more

The AVMA Clinical Research Award recognizes a veterinarian in recognition of his/her achievements in patient-oriented research, including the study of mechanisms of disease, therapeutic interventions, clinical trials, development of new technologies, and epidemiological studies. This award will be presented to an active AVMA member who has made significant contributions to the diagnosis, prevention, or treatment of diseases in animals.

Nomination criteria

  • Nominee must be an AVMA Member veterinarian
  • Nominations may be submitted by any individual (AVMA member or non-member) or organization (governmental and non-governmental)
  • Self-nominations will not be considered

Nomination requirements

  • Cover letter summarizing the nominee’s professional background including current professional activity and professional activity when the research was completed and published (type of practice or type of salaried work), statement of significant research achievements, and qualifications for the award
  • Interactive PDF nomination form
  • Self-nominations will not be considered
  • Curriculum vitae/resume, including relevant publications (not to exceed two double-sided typed pages)
  • Up to three letters of support from veterinarians, colleagues, clients or organizations (not to exceed three single-sided typed pages each)
  • Digital high resolution (300 d.p.i.) colored headshot photograph, suitable for publication
    • 5” x 7”
    • TIF or JPG format
  • If available, a reprint of the most significant publication

Selection process

  • The AVMA Council on Research selects the recipient
  • Criteria used to rank nominees include clinical relevance, impact on animal health, and engagement in AVMA activities
  • A recipient may not be selected in a given year if no nominee meets the criteria for selection
  • The recipient will receive a $2,500 honorarium and a crystal award, which will be presented at the National Veterinary Scholars Symposium