AVMA Lifetime Excellence in Research Award


AVMA awards:
Powered by you

Your nominations help us reward excellence. Review descriptions of the individual awards, and consider which of your colleagues deserve to be nominated.

Learn more

This award recognizes a veterinary researcher based on lifetime achievement in basic, applied, or clinical research. Nominees will be considered on the total impact their careers have had on the veterinary or biomedical professions.

Nomination criteria

  • Nominee must be a veterinarian, either retired or currently working in an academic, government, private, public institution or in a clinical practice
  • Nominations may be submitted by any individual (AVMA member or non-member) or organization (governmental and non-governmental)
  • Self-nominations will not be considered

Nomination requirements

  • Letter of nomination summarizing the nominee’s professional background including current professional activity and professional activity when the research was completed and published (type of practice or type of salaried work), statement of significant research achievements, and qualifications for the award
  • Interactive PDF nomination form
  • Self-nominations will not be considered
  • Curriculum vitae/resume, including relevant publications (not to exceed four single-sided typed pages)
  • Up to three letters of support from veterinarians, colleagues, clients or organizations (not to exceed three single-sided typed pages each)
  • Digital high resolution (300 d.p.i.) colored headshot photograph, suitable for publication

Selection process

  • The AVMA Council on Research selects the recipient
  • Criteria used to rank nominees include duration of sustained research productivity and impact on animal and/or human health
  • Recipient may not be selected in a given year if no nominee meets the criteria
  • The recipient will receive a $5,000 honorarium and a crystal award