Indiana VMA – February 1-3


The Indiana VMA (IVMA) held its Crossroads Veterinary Conference from February 1-3 in Noblesville.


The conference drew more than 450 registrants. On offer were 20 hours of continuing education. Awards were presented during the membership meeting on February 1.


Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Willie Reed
Dr. Willie Reed

Dr. Willie Reed (Tuskegee ’78), West Lafayette. Dr. Reed is dean of Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, where he also serves as a professor of veterinary anatomic pathology. He will step down from his position on June 30 after 17 years. Before that, he was a professor of veterinary pathology, director of what was known as the Diagnostic Center for Population and Animal Health, and chair of the Department of Pathobiology and Diagnostic Investigation at Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine. Earlier in his career, Dr. Reed was an assistant professor of veterinary pathology, chief of avian diseases diagnostic services, assistant director of the Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory, and an associate professor of avian pathology at Purdue’s veterinary college. He is a diplomate of the American College of Poultry Veterinarians and American College of Veterinary Pathologists. Dr. Reed has received multiple awards and honors, including the Iverson Bell Diversity and Inclusion Award from the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges for his work in advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion in the veterinary profession.

President’s Award

Dr. Robyn Kurtz (Purdue ’82), Hagerstown, for exceptional contributions to the association. Dr. Kurtz practices at and serves as a managing partner of Kurtz Veterinary Clinic in Hagerstown. She is a past president of the Purdue Veterinary Alumni Association and the 10th district of the IVMA.

Volunteer of the Year

Dr. Naida Huntimer (Iowa State ’11), Brownsburg, for leadership or service to a project or program of the association. Dr. Huntimer works for Elanco Animal Health. She is a board member of the Central Indiana VMA and serves as a co-facilitator of the IVMA Power of 10 program. 

Achievement Award

Dr. Mallory Clayton (Purdue ’19), Lafayette, won this award, given to an IVMA member who has graduated within the preceding five years and has made outstanding accomplishments in veterinary research, civic activities, academia, or organized veterinary medicine. Dr. Clayton owns Greater Lafayette Cat Hospital. She has participated in the IVMA Power of 10 program.


Dr. Lindsey Hedges-Gieseking, Lebanon, president; Dr. Kristi Kantz, New Albany, president-elect; Dr. Corey Swart, Kokomo, treasurer; Dr. Greg Kurtz, Hagerstown, immediate past president; and Lisa A. Perius, Indianapolis, executive director