Conference of Research Workers in Animal Diseases - Dec. 3-7, 2021


Annual conference, Dec. 3-7, 2021, Chicago


Dr. Chengappa
Dr. M.M. Chengappa

CRWAD Past President Award
Dr. M.M. Chengappa, Manhattan, Kansas. A 1970 graduate of what was known as the University of Agricultural Sciences’ Veterinary College Bangalore in India, Dr. Chengappa is a professor in the Department of Diagnostic Medicine/Pathobiology at Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine. He is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Microbiologists and immediate past president of CRWAD. Dr. Chengappa helped organize a virtual CRWAD conference in 2020 and a hybrid conference in 2021.

CRWAD Post-Doctoral Researcher Awards
C. Joaquin Caceres, PhD, University of Georgia, for “Development of a novel live attenuated influenza A virus vaccine encoding the IgA-inducing protein”; and Dr. Igor Paploski, University of Minnesota, for “Multi-strain dynamics of PRRSV type-2 in U.S. pig populations”

CRWAD Fellows
CRWAD named inaugural fellows with research careers in academia, industry, and government. These individuals were recognized for the impact and importance of their work; their ability to communicate and interpret science to stakeholders and the public; their contributions to scientific literature reflecting fundamental discoveries and innovative applied research in animal health and disease, population health, and translational medicine; and their mentoring of young research scientists. The fellows are Cynthia L Baldwin, PhD, University of Massachusetts; Dr. Yung-Fu Chang, Cornell University; Dr. Norman F. Cheville, Iowa State University; Dr. Lynette Bundy Corbeil, University of California; Roy Curtiss III, PhD, University of Florida; William C. Davis, PhD, Washington State University; Roman Reddy Ganta, PhD, Kansas State University; Dr. Ian A. Gardner, University of Prince Edward Island; Dr. Laura L. Hungerford, Virginia Tech; Jun Lin, PhD, University of Tennessee; Dr. T.G. Nagaraja, Kansas State University; Dr. Stuart W.J. Reid, University of London; Dr. Richard F. Ross, Iowa State University; Linda J. Saif, PhD, The Ohio State University; Dr. Y.M. Saif, The Ohio State University; Dr. Jan M. Sargeant, University of Guelph; and Lorraine M. Sordillo-Gandy, PhD, Michigan State University.

American College of Veterinary Microbiologists Awards
Don Kahn Award: Best overall presentation—Kristina Ceres, Cornell University, for “A critical evaluation of Mycobacterium bovis pangenomics, with reference to its utility in outbreak investigation”; ACVM Student Presentation Award, Oral: First place—Taylor Brooke McAtee, West Texas A&M University, for “ Do modified–live virus respiratory vaccines influence the respiratory microbiome of cattle?”; second place—Taylor Heckman, University of California-Davis, for “Antigenic profiling of Flavobacterium columnare genetic groups affecting cultured fish in the United States”; and third place—Chong Li, University of Minnesota, for “Shedding dynamics, genetic variation, and reassortment of heterosubtypic influenza secondary infection in pigs”; ACVM Student Presentation Award, Poster: First place—Prabha Bista, Purdue University, for “P110—outer membrane proteins as potential vaccine candidates against Fusobacterium necrophorum infections”

American Association of Veterinary Immunologists Awards
Oral Presentation: First place—Elisabeth Larson, Cornell University, for “Peripheral IgE+ plasmablasts secrete IgE and correlate to allergic disease severity”; second place—Jayne Wiarda, Iowa State University, for “Porcine innate lymphoid and T cells differ from circulating populations—novel findings via single-cell RNAseq”; and third place—Darling Melany Madrid, University of Florida, for “Combination of antiviral therapies in the control of influenza infection in pigs”; Poster Presentation: First place—Alisa Herbst, University of Kentucky, for “Pro-inflammatory cytokine responses to bacteria antigen LPS differ between young adult and old horses in vitro”; second place—Camille Holmes, Cornell University, for “Identification of antileukoproteinase as a marker for the immune status of horses during equine herpesvirus type 1 infection”; and third place—B. Tegner Jacobson, Montana State University, for “Impact of Mycoplasma ovipneumoniae on the phagocytic ability of alveolar macrophages”

American Association of Veterinary Parasitologists Award
Best Presentation: Heather Kopsco, University of Illinois for “An analysis of companion animal tick encounters as revealed by photograph-based crowdsourced data”

Association for Veterinary Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine Awards
Best Oral Presentation: First place—Dr. Benjamin Blair, University of Illinois, for “The application of artificial intelligence to detect disease outbreaks in swine farms”; second place—Rodrigo Campos, University of Georgia, for “Dynamics of bovine tuberculosis outbreaks: a study of interdependence between seasonal host movement and pathogen abundance”; and third place—Dr. Christopher Kellogg, Michigan State University, for “Changes in bovine leukemia virus diagnostic parameters in naturally infected dairy cattle over a lactation cycle”

Animal Health Institute/Joseph J. Garbarino Foundation Biosafety & Biosecurity Awards
Biosafety & Biosecurity Best Oral Presentation: First place—Betsy Armenta-Leyva, Iowa State University, for “Detection of Mycoplasma hyopneumoniae antibody in processing fluids using a commercial serum ELISA”; and second place—Catherine Belanger, University of Guelph, for “Examining the canine infectious disease risks associated with importing dogs from Asia into Canada”; Best Poster Presentation—Jerusha Matthews, Kansas State University, for “Seroprevalence of Crimean-Congo hemorrhagic fever virus infections in humans and livestock in West Africa”

NC-1202 Enteric Diseases of Food Animals Awards
Lynn Joens Memorial Award: First place—Huiwen Wang, The University of Tennessee, for “Enterobactin-based immune interventions against Gram-negative bacterial infections in chickens”; and second place—Rachel Soltys, Washington State University, for “Salmonella Kentucky ST152 and ST198 genetic lineages show lineage-specific metabolic phenotypes”; David Francis Award for third place—Kush Yadav, The Ohio State University, for “Ribosomal protein sequence 17 (RPS17) insertion increases avian hepatitis E virus (aHEV) replication”

Society for Tropical Veterinary Medicine
Best Oral Presentation: Anne Lovett, Kansas State University, for “Acute anaplasmosis reduces breeding soundness in experimentally-infected beef bulls”


Charles Czuprynski, University of Wisconsin-Madison, president; Dr. Annette O’Connor, Michigan State University, vice president; Dr. M.M. Chengappa, Kansas State University, immediate past president; Dr. Paul Morley, Texas A&M University and West Texas A&M University, executive director; and council members—Dr. Rebecca Wilkes, Purdue University; Weipang Zhang, PhD, University of Illinois; Dr. Marcus Kehrli, U.S. Department of Agriculture (retired); and Dr. John Angelos, University of California-Davis

A version of this article appears in the July 2022 print issue of JAVMA.