JAVMA News logo

October 01, 2020

Society for Theriogenology

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old


Virtual annual conference, July 22-25


The plenary sessions were “The future is coming! New technologies being applied to reproduction in animals and man” by Dr. Katrin Hinrichs, Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, and “In search of stem cell efficacy—immunogenicity matters” by Dr. Ashlee Watts, College Station, Texas, both sponsored by the American College of Theriogenologists. Thirty-seven scientific abstracts, 15 poster presentations, and eight case reports were presented at the conference. Four research presentations, six case presentations, and 17 poster presentations by veterinary students were also provided during various sessions at the conference.


Dr. Blanchard
Dr. Terry Blanchard

David E. Bartlett Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Terry Blanchard (Kansas State ’76), Galveston, Texas, for inspiring excellence and improving the visibility of theriogenology. Dr. Blanchard was a professor of equine theriogenology at Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences prior to retirement. He previously served on the veterinary faculties of the University of Missouri and the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Blanchard is a diplomate of the ACT and a past secretary of the ACT Examination Committee.

Dr. John Steiner Award for Excellence in Practice
Dr. Marthina Greer (Iowa State ‘81), Lomira, Wisconsin. Dr. Greer is the co-founder of Veterinary Village in Lomira. She also established the International Canine Semen Bank in Lomira. Dr. Greer served on the veterinary examining board of the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services for eight years. She is the author of the book “Canine Reproduction and Neonatology.”

Dr. Jerry Rains Memorial Abstract Competition, sponsored by Merck Animal Health
First place ($1,000)—Hossam El-Sheikh Ali, Lexington, Kentucky, for “Transcriptomic analysis of equine chorioallantois reveals key regulators and pathways involved in ascending placentitis”; second place ($750)—Carleigh Fedorka, Lexington, Kentucky, for “The effect of mycobacterium cell wall fraction on histological, immunological, and clinical parameters of equine postpartum involution”; third place ($500)—Jennine Lection, Ithaca, New York, for “Investigation of inflammatory proteins as novel diagnostic biomarkers for endometritis in the mares”; and fourth place ($250)—Brynley Cozzi, San Jose, California for “Sperm protein reactive with anti-sperm antibody (SPRASA) is immunoexpressed in equine primordial, primary, secondary, and tertiary follicles”

Veterinary Student Case Presentation Competition, sponsored by Merck Animal Health
First place ($650)—Hannah Neer, University of California-Davis, for “Successful treatment of ascending placentitis in a Thoroughbred mare”; second place ($525)—Rachel Doenges, Mississippi State University, for “Mummification of fetus and abortion secondary to umbilical cord torsion”; third place ($450)—Colleen Kutzler, University of Minnesota, for “Dystocia due to a congenital hydrocephalus in a miniature Dachshund”; fourth place ($375)—Sara Dietz, Mississippi State University, for “Left testicular rupture in a Red Angus bull”; fifth place ($300)—Katelyn Kimble, Texas A&M University, for “Monozygotic twins in a Thoroughbred mare bred by live-cover”; and sixth place ($200)—Kalie Beckers, Louisiana State University, for “Pregnancy toxemia in the bitch”

Veterinary Student Research Presentation Competition, sponsored by Idexx
First place ($650)—Joshua Trumble, Auburn University, for “Alfaxalone cross-reactivity affecting progesterone concentrations in cats”; second place ($525)—Elizabeth Frieden, Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine, for “Sonographic appearance of the late gestation sheep fetal intestine and kidney”; third place ($450)—Sarah Legg, Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine, for “Assessing the efficacy of deslorelin acetate in advancing ovulation for use in timed artificial insemination protocols in goats”; and fourth place ($375)—Peri Pelletier, Tufts University, for “Influence of extender, temperature, and equilibration time on post-thaw sperm motility in ram semen (Ovis aries)”

Veterinary Student Poster Competition, sponsored by Idexx and Sonosite-A Fujifilm Co.
First place—Breanthony Baker, Texas A&M University, for “Halter stallion anejaculation due to dorsal displacement of the soft palate”; and second place (three-way tie)—Blair Hooser, Purdue University, for “Genetic causes of Golden Retriever congenital hypomyelinating polyneuropathy”; Claudia Avecedo, Cornell University, for “Anasarca in a neonatal Bulldog puppy secondary to a ventricular septal defect”; and Alexandra Grillos, University of California-Davis, for “Foal born using intracytoplasmic sperm injection to a Friesian mare with unexplained subfertility”


The society amended the constitution and bylaws to allow absentee voting by members who request a mailed ballot. The SFT also has invested in additional efforts in education, technology, and marketing while continuing support of veterinary student initiatives and projects of the Theriogenology Foundation.

Dr. Smith
Dr. Jack Smith


Drs. Jack Smith, Starkville, Mississippi, president; Ahmed Tibary, Pullman, Washington, president-elect; Dan Tracy, Fort Collins, Colorado, vice president; Candace Lyman, Stillwater, Oklahoma, secretary-treasurer; Colin Palmer, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, immediate past president; and board members—Drs. Kristina Baltutis, Burlington, North Carolina; Reed Holyoak, Stillwater, Oklahoma; and Riley Thompson, Laporte, Colorado