World Small Animal Veterinary Association

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Harvey
Dr. Colin Harvey
Dr. Breitschwerdt
Dr. Edward B. Breitschwerdt
Dr. Woods
Christopher W. Woods, MD
Dr. Sivagurunathan
Dr. Amilan Sivagurunathan


Dr. Weerasinghe
Dr. Guyan Weerasinghe
Dr. Obeyesekere
Dr. Nalinika Obeyesekere
Dr. Ryan
Dr. Shane Ryan
Dr. Chunekamrai
Dr. Siraya Chunekamrai


43rd World Small Animal Veterinary Association Congress, Sept. 25-28, Singapore


The congress attracted 3,350 attendees. More than 100 speakers presented lectures, including presentations from 2018 WSAVA awardees. Also on offer were master classes and workshops.


WSAVA International Award for Scientific Achievement
Dr. Colin Harvey, Haddonfield, New Jersey, for his work in highlighting the importance of veterinary oral and dental conditions in companion animals and developing tools to support the incorporation of dental procedures and dental preventive strategy into daily veterinary practice. A 1966 veterinary graduate of the University of Bristol in Bristol, England, Dr. Harvey was a professor of surgery and dentistry at the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine for more than 30 years prior to retirement in 2013. During his career, he introduced a vast range of oral and maxillofacial surgical procedures into his clinical, teaching, and research activities. These helped improve oral surgery reconstructive techniques used in cancer patients and in the management of oral trauma and congenital and acquired oronasal defects. Dr. Harvey is a charter diplomate of the American Veterinary Dental College and a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons.

WSAVA Global One Health Award
Dr. Edward B. Breitschwerdt (Georgia '74), Raleigh, North Carolina, and Christopher W. Woods, MD, Durham, North Carolina, for their work on atypical manifestations of bartonellosis in humans, particularly in veterinary professionals. Drs. Breitschwerdt and Woods have developed tests to more easily diagnose bartonellosis in humans and discovered chronic disease associations, including headaches, blurred vision, fatigue, and polyarthritis, that can be confused with Lyme disease. Dr. Breitschwerdt is a professor of medicine and infectious diseases at the North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine. He also directs the university's Intracellular Pathogens Research Laboratory in the Institute for Comparative Medicine, co-directs the Vector Borne Diseases Diagnostic Laboratory, and directs the Biosafety Level 3 Biocontainment Facility. Dr. Breitschwerdt serves as an adjunct professor of medicine at the Duke University Medical Center. He is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine. Dr. Woods received his medical degree from Duke University in 1994 and serves as a professor of medicine and global health and chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases at the Duke University School of Medicine. He also co-directs Duke's Hubert-Yeargan Center for Global Health and serves as an adjunct associate professor of epidemiology at the University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health and in the Emerging Infectious Diseases Program at the Duke–National University of Singapore Medical School.

WSAVA Meritorious Service Award
Dr. Amilan Sivagurunathan, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. A 2002 veterinary graduate of the University of Pretoria in South Africa, Dr. Sivagurunathan is a veterinary ophthalmologist and practices at Animal Medical Center in Kuala Lumpur. A past president of the Malaysian Small Animal Veterinary Association, he established a pharmaceutical working group to enable MSAVA to work with representatives from the livestock industry and discuss policies and regulations established by the pharmacy board of the Malaysian veterinary industry. Dr. Sivagurunathan is a member of the technical working committee of the Malaysian National Animal Welfare Foundation and has helped raise standards of companion animal welfare in the country.

WSAVA Hill's Next Generation Award
Dr. Guyan Weerasinghe (Queensland '11), Mount Coolum, Australia. Dr. Weerasinghe practices small animal medicine at Greencross Vets Caloundra in Caloundra, Australia, also serving as a veterinary officer with the Department of Agriculture and Fisheries of the state of Queensland, Australia. Dr. Weerasinghe is involved with animal disease surveillance and response, collaborates nationwide on one-health projects, and promotes continuing education. He is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine and is a past president of the Sunshine Coast branch of the Australian Veterinary Association.

WSAVA Award for Companion Animal Welfare
Dr. Nalinika Obeyesekere, Colombo, Sri Lanka. Dr. Obeyesekere was the first recipient of this award, recognizing veterinarians who have made significant contributions to companion animal welfare. A 1991 veterinary graduate of the University of Peradeniya in Sri Lanka, she co-founded and serves as a director of PetVet Clinic in Colombo. Dr. Obeyesekere also co-established Blue Paw Trust, an organization aiming to enhance human health and advance animal welfare. As a co-founding member of the Society of Companion Animal Practitioners of Sri Lanka, she has helped develop continuing education and advocates for higher standards of veterinary practice and adoption of the one-health approach. Dr. Obeyesekere promotes behavioral therapy with both veterinary teams and owners.


The WSAVA launched its new Animal Welfare Guidelines for companion animal practitioners and veterinary teams. The guidelines aim to bridge differing perceptions of animal welfare around the world and help veterinarians tackle the ethical questions and moral issues that impact animal welfare. They also offer guidance to ensure that, in addition to providing physical health advice and therapy to their patients, veterinarians can advocate for patients' psychological, social, and environmental well-being.


Drs. Shane Ryan, Singapore, president; Siraya Chunekamrai, Bangkok, vice president; Walt Ingwersen, Dundas, Canada, immediate past president; Michael Day, Cheddar, England, honorary treasurer; Renee Chalmers Hoynck van Papendrecht, Den Helder, Netherlands, honorary secretary; Nicola Neumann, Bray, Ireland, congress liaison officer; and Ellen van Nierop, Quito, Ecuador, board member