Florida VMA

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Williams
Dr. Richard B. Williams
Dr. Hase
Dr. Robert R. Hase
Dr. Presnell
Dr. Marc A. Presnell
Dr. Steverson
Dr. Alex “Steve” Steverson

Event: Annual meeting, April 6-9, Tampa
Program: The meeting drew more than 400 veterinarians, 230 veterinary technicians, 85 veterinary students, and 30 practice staff. On offer were in excess of 100 hours of continuing education.
Awards: President’s Award: Dr. Richard B. Williams, Jacksonville. A 1981 graduate of the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Williams owns Hidden Hills Animal Hospital in Jacksonville. He chairs the FVMA Legislative Committee and is Florida’s alternate delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates. Dr. Williams served as FVMA treasurer from 2010-2016. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Robert R. Hase, New Port Richey. A 1970 graduate of Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Dr. Hase owns Bayonet Point Animal Clinic in New Port Richey. He co-chairs the Florida Board of Veterinary Medicine and has served on the FVMA Legislative and College Advisory committees. Dr. Hase was among the group of veterinarians who helped establish the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine. Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Marc A. Presnell, Lakeland. A 1986 graduate of the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine and president-elect of the FVMA, Dr. Presnell owns Santa Fe Animal Clinic in Lakeland. He has twice served as president of Ridge Veterinary Medical Society and is active with the veterinary academy at George Jenkins High School in Lakeland. Gold Star Award: Drs. Brooke A. Certa, Seminole; Kevin A. Drygas, Tallahassee; Natalie Hashey, Jacksonville; and Rebecca R. Williams, Jacksonville
Officials: Drs. Alex "Steve" Steverson, Tallahassee, president; Marc A. Presnell, Lakeland, president-elect; Donald H. Morgan, Jacksonville, treasurer; Richard C. Sutliff, Jacksonville, immediate past president; and AVMA delegate and alternate delegate—Drs. Ernest C. Godfrey, Pinellas Park, and Richard B. Williams, Jacksonville