United States Animal Health Association

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Jim Leafstedt
Dr. Pelzel-McCluskey
Dr. Angela Pelzel-McCluskey
Dr. Jones
Dr. Annette Jones
Paul Rodgers


Dr. Parr
Dr. Boyd Parr
Barbara Determan

Event: 120th annual meeting, Oct. 13-19, 2016, Greensboro, North Carolina
Program: The meeting, held jointly with the American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians (see story), drew more than 1,200 attendees. The joint plenary session, “Challenges, High Tech Solutions, and Success Strategies in Animal Agriculture,” moderated by Max Armstrong, Clayton, North Carolina, featured speakers Dr. David Kohl, professor emeritus at Virginia Tech University; Dale Moore, executive director of public policy with the American Farm Bureau; Daniel Berckmans, a professor at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven in Belgium; and Dr. Randall Prather, a professor at the University of Missouri. Also held was a symposium on Lyme disease.
Awards: USAHA Medal of Distinction: Jim Leafstedt, Alcester, South Dakota. A past president of the association, Leafstedt is a retired pork producer. He was recognized for his leadership within the association and the animal agriculture and swine industry, and his efforts toward the eradication of the pseudorabies virus. USAHA Federal Partnership Award: Dr. Angela Pelzel-McCluskey, Fort Collins, Colorado. A 2001 graduate of the Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Dr. Pelzel-McCluskey is an equine epidemiologist with Veterinary Services in the Department of Agriculture’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. She was honored for her service and collaborative efforts in addressing equine disease in the United States. APHIS Administrator’s Award: Dr. Annette Jones, Sacramento. A 1998 graduate of the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine and treasurer of the association, Dr. Jones is California state veterinarian and director of California Animal Health and Food Safety Services. She was recognized for her 15 years in public service as a reliable and valuable partner in animal health both to states and to APHIS. National Assembly Award: Paul Rodgers, Ronceverte, West Virginia. Rodgers is deputy director of policy for the American Sheep Industry Association, also serving as the lead staff person for the American Lamb Council. He was honored for his dedication as an ally to the sheep industry and to animal agriculture. Rodgers has helped shape and improve issues in the sheep industry during his more than 30-year career with the ASI. The USAHA also recognized its executive director, Ben Richey, for his 10 years of service with the association, and immediate past president, Dr. David Schmitt, for his service as president from 2015-2016.
Business: The USAHA continues to implement the 2015 strategic plan, including evaluation of its committees. The association is redesigning its website and has approved a new logo, which will be unveiled in 2017. Twenty-nine resolutions have been approved and can be viewed at jav.ma/USAHA2016. The association also continues to make progress on here, a single source for livestock interstate movement requirements that was launched in 2015 and established in partnership with the National Institute for Animal Agriculture. The site includes livestock movement requirements in all 50 states for cattle, sheep and goats, horses, and swine.
Officials: Dr. Boyd Parr, Columbia, South Carolina, president; Barbara Determan, Early, Iowa, president-elect; Kristin Haas, Montpelier, Vermont, first vice president; Dr. Martin Zaluski, Helena, Montana, second vice president; Dr. Paul McGraw, Madison, Wisconsin, third vice president; Dr. Annette Jones, Sacramento, California, treasurer; and Dr. David Schmitt, Ankeny, Iowa, immediate past president