Oregon VMA

Published on May 02, 2016
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Cochell
Dr. Deborah Cochell
Brenda Bailey
Dr. LeaMaster
Dr. Brad LeaMaster
Dr. Hall
Dr. Jean Hall

Event: Annual meeting, March 4-6, Corvallis
Awards: Veterinary Service Award: Dr. Deborah Cochell, Canby. A 1998 graduate of the Oregon State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Cochell co-owns Woodburn Veterinary Clinic in Woodburn and Sequoia Veterinary Clinic in Canby. She serves on the board of directors of Project Pooch, a rehabilitation program that pairs inmates incarcerated at the MacLaren Youth Correctional Facility in Woodburn, with shelter dogs. Dr. Cochell was honored for her work with the program. Practice Manager of the Year: Brenda Bailey, Sherwood. Practice manager of Cascade Summit Animal Hospital in West Linn, Bailey co-manages the clinic’s financial plan, administers the practice’s use of technology to enhance efficiency, and has created a wellness program for the clinic. President’s Award: Dr. Brad LeaMaster, Dallas. A 1982 graduate of the Washington State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. LeaMaster is Oregon state veterinarian. Earlier, he worked for the Department of Agriculture for several years.
Business: Discussions were held on the licensure of veterinary practice facilities, including nonprofit facilities that treat privately owned animals; the status of relief veterinarians as independent contractors versus employees; and the Food and Drug Administration’s guidance document on veterinary compounding and the Drug Enforcement Administration’s restrictions on the compounding of controlled substances for non-patient–specific purposes. Also discussed were the transport of controlled substances and the Veterinary Medicine Mobility Act; antibiotic resistance in food-producing animals and the Veterinary Feed Directive; and concerns and issues surrounding cannabis, including toxicosis in patients and clients “treating” their animals with marijuana.
Officials: Drs. Jean Hall, Corvallis, president; Robert Franklin, Portland, president-elect; Amelia Simpson, Portland, vice president; Jay Fineman, Newport, treasurer; and Charles Meyer, Grants Pass, immediate past president