Five swine veterinarians honored for contributions

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Coleman
Dr. Larry L. Coleman
Dr. Hill
Dr. Howard Hill
Dr. Baker
Dr. Rodney “Butch” Baker


Dr. Keffaber
Dr. Kerry Keffaber
Dr. Inskeep
Dr. Megan S. Inskeep

The American Association of Swine Veterinarians honored five veterinarians for contributions to the association and the swine industry. The awards were given March 2 during the AASV Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida.

Dr. Larry L. Coleman (Missouri ’80) received the Swine Practitioner of the Year Award, which is given for high proficiency and effectiveness in delivering veterinary service to clients.

He is a food animal practice owner in Broken Bow, Nebraska, where he is passionate about the art and science of getting employees to emotionally engage when caring for animals. He also has served as a volunteer leader on numerous AASV committees since joining in 1984.

Dr. Howard Hill (California-Davis ’69) received the AASV Meritorious Service Award, which is given in recognition of outstanding service to the association.

He joined the AASV in 1979 and was its president in 1996. He also has been a volunteer leader on the AASV Program Planning Committees. He received the AASV’s Howard Dunne Memorial Award in 1992, and he is an AASV Foundation Leman Fellow.

He also was one of nine veterinarians appointed to the Department of Agriculture’s Advisory Committee on Animal Health from 2011-2013, and he is immediate past president of the National Pork Producers Council.

Dr. Rodney “Butch” Baker (Auburn ’78) received the Howard Dunne Memorial Award, which is given to AASV members who provide important contributions and outstanding service to the AASV and the swine industry.

Dr. Baker was honored for his work in academia, private practice, consulting, and industry. He is the interim director of the Iowa Pork Industry Center at Iowa State University, which he joined in 2006 as a senior clinician in the College of Veterinary Medicine, and he is one of the owners of two pig farms in Georgia and Kentucky. He also was AASV president in 2009.

Dr. Kerry Keffaber (Purdue ’81) received the Technical Services/Allied Industry Veterinarian of the Year Award, which is given to veterinarians who show high proficiency and effectiveness in delivering veterinary service to their employers and clients, as well as give tireless service to the AASV and swine industry.

He was honored for technical service to Elanco Animal Health, which he joined in 2002 as a swine technical services consultant and where he later worked as director of technical consulting in the swine business unit and director of swine innovation. He now is an adviser at the company for scientific affairs and policy, a role through which he leads domestic and international efforts on policies affecting global animal health, scientific research, and food safety. He also was AASV president in 2008.

Dr. Megan S. Inskeep (North Carolina State ’10) received the Young Swine Veterinarian of the Year Award, which is given to AASV members who graduated within the preceding five years and have provided exemplary service and proficiency.

Her efforts recognized through the award include giving community presentations through the National Pork Board’s Operation Main Street project and helping veterinary students in obtaining swine practice experience. She is a veterinarian for Rensselaer Swine Services in Rensselaer, Indiana.