Florida VMA

Published on June 18, 2014
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Event: Annual conference, April 25-27, Lake Buena Vista  

 ​Dr. Ernest C. Godfrey ​ Dr. Jerry P. Shank ​ Dr. Stephen A. Shores

​ Dr. Jacqueline S. Shellow ​ Dr. Donald H. Morgan Dr. Richard M. Carpenter

Awards: Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Ernest C. Godfrey, Largo, for outstanding contributions to the association and veterinary medicine. A 1968 graduate of the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Godfrey owns and serves as managing partner of Pinellas Animal Hospital in Pinellas Park. He also owns Seminole Boulevard Animal Hospital in Largo and is co-director of the St. Petersburg Animal Emergency Clinic. A past president of the FVMA, Dr. Godfrey is chair of the FVMA Program Committee and serves as the association’s alternate delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates. He is a member of the AVMA Political Action Committee Policy Board and a past member of the AVMA State Advocacy Committee. Distinguished Service Award: Drs. Jerry P. Shank, Fort Lauderdale, and Stephen A. Shores, Gainesville, for exceptional achievements and contributions toward the advancement of veterinary medicine and the veterinary profession. A 1970 graduate of The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Shank has owned Shank Animal Hospital in Fort Lauderdale for 40 years. He is also the founder of the South Florida Academy of Veterinary Medicine. A past president of the FVMA, Dr. Shank serves as president of the Broward County VMA. A 1964 graduate of Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Dr. Shores owns Shores Animal Hospital in Gainesville. A past president of the FVMA, he chairs its Legislative Committee and serves as its delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates. Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Jacqueline S. Shellow, Hollywood. A 1987 graduate of the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Shellow is a partner at Teigland, Franklin and Brokken, DVM’s, P.A. in Fort Lauderdale, a specialty equine practice. She serves on the FVMA Legislative Committee and is a council member of the Florida Association of Equine Practitioners.

Officials: Drs. Donald H. Morgan, Largo, president; Richard M. Carpenter, Fort Myers, president-elect; Richard B. Williams, Jacksonville, treasurer; Jerry L. Rayburn, Winter Haven, immediate past president; and AVMA delegate and alternate delegate—Drs. Stephen A. Shores, Gainesville, and Ernest C. Godfrey, Largo