Association of Exotic Mammal Veterinarians

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Griffin
Dr. Chris Griffin

Event: Annual meeting, Sept. 17, Indianapolis
Program: The meeting drew 200 attendees. President of the AEMV, Dr. Chris Griffin, presided over the meeting.
Awards: Research Grant ($5,000): Dr. Joanne Paul-Murphy, Davis, Calif., for her project “Pharmacokinetics of buprenorphine in guinea pigs (Cavia porcellus): Intravenous, intramuscular, and oral transmucosal.” President’s Award: Dr. Melissa Kling, Macon, Ga. Dr. Kling was honored for her years of service to the association as secretary and executive director.
Business: The AEMV, Association of Amphibian and Reptilian Veterinarians, and Association of Avian Veterinarians will hold future conferences in conjunction with each other so that members will have access to continuing education on a variety of species at one location.
Officials: Drs. Chris Griffin, Kannapolis, N.C., president; Dan Johnson, Raleigh, N.C., president-elect; Micah Kohles, Platte City, Mo., treasurer; Joerg Mayer, Athens, Ga., immediate past president; and Melissa Kling, Macon, Ga., secretary–executive director