American Association of Bovine Practitioners

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Latta
Dr. Thomas R. Latta
Dr. Nordlund
Dr. Kenneth V. Nordlund
Dr. Spare
Dr. Randall K. Spare


Dr. Van Saun
Dr. Robert J. Van Saun
Dr. BonDurant
Dr. Robert H. BonDurant
Dr. Wileman
Dr. Ben Wileman

Seven veterinarians were honored for their contributions to the veterinary profession and cattle health during the American Association of Bovine Practitioners’ annual conference Sept. 19-21 in Milwaukee.

Dr. Thomas R. Latta (OKL ‘68) of Spearman, Texas, received the Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica Inc. Bovine Practitioner of the Year Award.

Dr. Kenneth V. Nordlund (MIN ‘77), a clinical professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine, received the AABP Award of Excellence, given for consistently having a positive influence on the daily activities of veterinarians working in bovine practice.

Dr. Scott P. Tripp (COL ‘82) of Richmond, Utah, received the Merial Excellence in Preventive Medicine Award for dairy practice, and Dr. Randall K. Spare (KSU ‘86) of Ashland, Kan., received the Merial Excellence in Preventive Medicine Award for beef cattle practice.

Dr. Robert J. Van Saun (MSU ‘82), a professor and extension veterinarian in the Department of Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences at Pennsylvania State University, received the Zoetis Distinguished Service Award, given for extended and continued service in promoting the AABP’s goals and serving bovine agriculture.

Dr. Robert H. BonDurant (CAL ‘74), professor emeritus of food animal production at the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, received the Merck Animal Health Mentor of the Year Award, given for working in veterinary medicine at least 25 years and having been advisers and role models to veterinary students or preveterinary students.

Dr. Ben W. Wileman (ISU ‘05) of Willmar, Minn., received the James A. Jarrett Award for Young Leaders. The award recognizes extraordinary service to the AABP that has enhanced the organization’s mission.