Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Massachusetts VMA

Dr. Komisar
Dr. Karen Komisar
Dr. Cookingham
Dr. Carol Cookingham

On March 16, the Massachusetts VMA celebrated its 129th anniversary and held its annual awards dinner, honoring three members.

Dr. Adam Arzt (UP ’89) of Milford received the 2012 Distinguished Service Award for his years of selfless dedication and service to the MVMA. He has been a member since 1989 and has served on several committees. Dr. Arzt established Metrowest Veterinary Associates in 1992 in Milford, Mass.

Dr. Karen Komisar (OSU '84) of Danvers was honored with the 2012 Merit Award for being instrumental in the development of the animal care and veterinary technology programs at North Shore Community College in Danvers, Mass. Dr. Komisar is a homeopathic practitioner who runs the Veterinary Homeopathy clinic in Danvers. She is certified by the Academy of Veterinary Homeopathy.

Dr. Carol Cookingham (COR ’79) of Lowell was honored for 22 years of service and dedication as the editor of the MassVet News. The newsletter is published nine times a year and informs members about the association’s activities and news from the greater veterinary profession.

National Academies of Practice

Dr. Herbold
Dr. John R. Herbold
Dr. Conti
Dr. Lisa A. Conti
Dr. Evans
Dr. Richard Evans
Rebecca A. Johnson, PhD
Rebecca A. Johnson, PhD


Dr. Mani
Dr. Indu Mani
Dr. Rawlings
Dr. Clarence Rawlings
Dr. Sackman
Dr. Jill E. Sackman
Dr. Lawler
Dr. Dennis Lawler


The National Academies of Practice, an interdisciplinary organization of health care practitioners and scholars, held an April 5-6 forum on “Interprofessional Healthcare: Working Together for Healthy Aging.” Dr. John R. Herbold is 2013-2014 president of the NAP.

The NAP elected the following six individuals as new members of the Veterinary Medicine Academy.

Dr. Lisa A. Conti (FL ’88) is deputy commissioner and chief science officer for the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. She also has a consulting business, Global One Health Solutions, focusing on veterinary and environmental public health. Previously, she served with the Florida Department of Health for 23 years, including as director of environmental health and as state public health veterinarian. She is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine.

Dr. Richard Evans (IL ’79) is medical director of the Pacific Marine Mammal Center in Laguna Beach, Calif., a rehabilitation and research center for marine mammals. He worked previously at the Orange County Vector Control District and the Orange County Health Care Agency in California; at a small animal, exotic, and wildlife practice in California; and at Ralston Purina Co. He was the founding president of the National Wildlife Rehabilitators Association. He also is a U.S. Air Force veteran.

Rebecca A. Johnson, PhD, directs the Research Center for Human-Animal Interaction at the University of Missouri-Columbia College of Veterinary Medicine and is a professor at the university’s Sinclair School of Nursing. She studies the relocation of older adults and the health benefits of interactions between humans and companion animals. She is president of the International Association of Human-Animal Interaction Organizations and serves on the executive boards of Pet Partners and the International Society for Anthrozoology.

Dr. Indu Mani (COL ’95) practices at Natick Animal Clinic in Natick, Mass., and serves as the editor of Clinician’s Brief. She also is a member of the advisory board for the One Health Initiative website. Her professional interests include all aspects of internal medicine, particularly infectious and zoonotic diseases. She earned her doctorate from Harvard University in 2002 in virology, specializing in the molecular epidemiology of HIV-1.

Dr. Clarence Rawlings (IL ‘67), past president of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons, spent 30 years on the staff at the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine before transitioning from professor to professor emeritus in 2004. He continues to practice part time as a surgeon and a consultant. He directs training symposia in veterinary endoscopy at the university and provides endoscopic training at veterinary hospitals throughout the United States. He co-edited the third edition of “Small Animal Endoscopy.”

Dr. Jill E. Sackman (MSU ‘85), a diplomate of the ACVS, is a health care consultant at Numerof & Associates Inc., a management consulting firm in St. Louis. Previously, she had been global director of regulatory and preclinical affairs for Johnson & Johnson and was on the faculty at the University of Tennessee College of Medicine. She has worked in research on implantable materials and in design and commercialization of pharmaceuticals and medical devices.

The NAP also inducted Dr. Dennis Lawler (IL ‘74), who became a member of the Veterinary Medicine Academy in 2012. He is an adjunct research associate at the Illinois State Museum and a research associate with the Pacific Marine Mammal Center. His research and clinical background includes animal reproduction, genetics, aging, and population medicine. He was part of an international research team that explored the genetics of size in dogs and was a co-principal investigator in a study of lifetime reduction of energy intake in dogs.

University of Georgia

Dr. Eichelberger
Dr. Adam C. Eichelberger
Dr. Hayes
Dr. John E. Hayes
Dr. Lawson Fubini
Dr. Susan Lawson Fubini

The University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine recognized three alumni at its annual conference.

Dr. Adam C. Eichelberger (GA ’03) of Aiken, S.C., was recognized with the Young Achiever Award. He joined Clemson University in October 2010 as an extension and field veterinarian for its livestock poultry health division and the South Carolina state veterinarian’s office. Dr. Eichelberger currently is the interim director for Clemson’s animal health programs.

He also is an adjunct professor of animal and veterinary science, a trained foreign animal disease diagnostician, a board member for the South Carolina Horsemen’s Council, and a member of the board of directors for the South Carolina Association of Veterinarians. He is diplomate of the American College of Theriogenologists.

Dr. John E. Hayes (GA ’63) of Ruckersville, Va., was honored with a Distinguished Alumnus Award. Dr. Hayes is a mixed animal practitioner who owned, and later sold, two practices.

Throughout his career, Dr. Hayes has provided low- or no-cost veterinary care to animals whose owners could not otherwise afford care. He also has been extremely active in shelter medicine and has worked to raise the standard of care provided at shelters in his region. In 2007, he helped open the Madison-Greene Humane Society’s low-cost spay and neuter clinic, where he still works weekly and remains on call—all at no charge. Dr. Hayes also mentors professional colleagues as well as students who want to become veterinarians. He was instrumental in launching a foundation to provide scholarships and loans to veterinary students.

Dr. Susan Lawson Fubini (GA ’80) of Ithaca, N.Y., received a Distinguished Alumna Award. She is a professor and section chief for large animal surgery at the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine. She joined Cornell’s faculty in 1983 following the completion of her large animal surgery residency at the university. She is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons.