Indiana VMA

Published on March 20, 2013
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Event: 129th annual meeting, Jan. 31-Feb. 3, Indianapolis
Program: The meeting drew more than 400 veterinarians and 200 veterinary technicians and assistants and offered in excess of 140 hours of continuing education.
Awards: Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Tony Rumschlag, Noblesville, for cumulative service and accomplishments benefiting the profession, organized veterinary medicine, and the community. A 1985 graduate of the Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Rumschlag is director of technical consultants for Elanco Animal Health. He is a past president of the IVMA; serves on the IVMA Annual Meeting, Legislative, and Audit and Budget committees; and is a member of the Indiana Animal Health Foundation board of directors. Dr. Rumschlag served on the AVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities from 2004-2010, chairing it the last two years of his service, and represented the IVMA and Elanco on the North American Veterinary Medical Education Consortium in 2009 and 2010.  Volunteer of the Year: Dr. Marybeth Feutz, Princeton, for leadership or service to a particular project or program of the association. A 2003 graduate of Tufts University Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine and a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine, Dr. Feutz is a large animal consultant at Princeton Veterinary Hospital. She has served on the IVMA Membership and Annual Meeting committees and is a past chair of the Power of 11 training program. Achievement Award: Dr. Matt Cantrell, Brownsburg, won this award, given to a member who has graduated within the preceding five years and has accomplished outstanding things in veterinary research, civic duties, academia, and/or organized veterinary medicine. A 2010 graduate of the Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Cantrell practices small animal medicine at Brownsburg Animal Clinic and serves on the board of directors of the Misty Eyes Animal Shelter and Learning Center. He is a member of the IVMA Annual Meeting Committee. President’s Award: Dr. Jerry Risser, McCordsville. A 1992 graduate of the Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Dr. Risser owns Fall Creek Veterinary Medical Center. He is vice president of the IVMA and represents the Central Indiana VMA on its board of directors. Dr. Risser recently chaired the IVMA Not for Profit Task Force.
Officials: Dr. Philip Borst, Indianapolis, president; Dr. John T. Feutz, Princeton, president-elect; Dr. Jerry Risser, McCordsville, vice president; Dr. Aileen McDivitt, Kokomo, treasurer; Dr. Paul Clemente, Fort Wayne, immediate past president; and Lisa A. Perius, Indianapolis, executive director