American College of Theriogenologists

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Ball
Dr. Barry A. Ball
Dr. Card
Dr. Claire Card

Event: Annual business meeting, Aug. 22, 2012, Baltimore
Award: Theriogenologist of the Year Award, sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica Inc.: Dr. Barry A. Ball, Lexington, Ky., for excellence in teaching and research on reproduction in horses. Dr. Ball has mentored 26 graduate students and 18 veterinarians in residency programs and has published numerous peer-reviewed scientific articles and book chapters on his research in equine spermatozoa.
Business: A job task analysis will be conducted to meet the mandate of the American Board of Veterinary Specialties. Members of the ACT are asked to provide information regarding their work activities in theriogenology for the analysis. Several revisions were made to the college’s general information guide on the basis of recommendations from the ACT Training and Credentialing Committee and approval by the ACT board of directors and voting members in attendance at the ACT annual meeting.
New diplomates: The college welcomed 19 new diplomates following successful completion of the certification examination. The new diplomates are as follows:

Elizabeth Callahan, Easton, Md.
Mariana Diel de Amorim, Guelph, Ontario
Kirsty Gallacher, Ithaca, N.Y.
Adria Kukk, Kitchener, Ontario
Natalia Samaj Kunze, Philadelphia
William H. Lias, Brandon, S.D.
Andrew Lovelady, Auburn, Ala.
Stuart Mason, Camberwall, Australia
Bret McNabb, Davis, Calif.
Ellen Oosterlaar, Baton Rouge, La.
Lisa Pearson, Pullman, Wash.
Cyril Stephen Perumamthadathil, Wagga Wagga, Australia
Erin Runcan, Lancaster, Ohio
Maria Raymond Schnobrich, Coatesville, Pa.
David Scofield, Kennedyville, Md.
Charles Scoggin, Paris, Ky.
Mary Swartz, Tulsa, Okla.
Isabel Velez, College Station, Texas
Christy Carson Young, Hillsboro, Tenn.

Officials: Drs. Claire Card, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, president; Gary Althouse, New London, Pa., president-elect; Barry Ball, Lexington, Ky., vice president; Bruce Eilts, Baton Rouge, La., treasurer; R. Bruce Hollett, Athens, Ga., secretary; and Steve Brinsko, College Station, Texas, immediate past president. Dr. Stuart Meyers, Davis, Calif., was elected to the board of directors.