New Mexico VMA

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Walker
Dr. Emily Walker
Dr. Derwelis
Dr. Steve Derwelis
Dr. Byrne
Dr. T. Murt Byrne

Event: Annual meeting, Dec. 4, Albuquerque
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Emily Walker, Albuquerque. A 1999 graduate of Oklahoma State University, Dr. Walker owns Albuquerque Cat Clinic. She is a past president of the Albuquerque VMA, serves on the NMVMA Legislative Committee, is director of the NMVMA executive board's central district, and serves on the board of directors of Animal Humane New Mexico. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Steve Derwelis, Albuquerque. A 1966 graduate of the University of Illinois, Dr. Derwelis owned New Mexico Equine until recently and still practices there part time. He co-founded the New Mexico Academy of Veterinary Practice and is a past director of the American Association of Equine Practitioners.
Officials: Drs. T. Murt Byrne, Santa Fe, president; Manuel Garcia, Farmington, president-elect; Bonnie Snyder, Edgewood, secretary-treasurer; and Linda Locklar, Silver City, immediate past president