Students awarded scholarships from AVMF

Published on August 31, 2011
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

The American Veterinary Medical Foundation announced July 17 during its board of directors meeting in St. Louis the 26 recipients of scholarships it handed out this year through its 2011 Veterinary Student Scholarship program. Each student won $1,000.

The recipients and their career interests are as follows:

  • Anna Altobelli (KSU '14), large animal medicine or laboratory animal science.
  • Kathryn Sharbrough Bass (TUS '11), shelter animal medicine.
  • Courtney Blake (ISU '12), large animal medicine.
  • Matt Brewer (ISU '12), food animal medicine.
  • Lynn Brockway (MO '14), food animal medicine.
  • Vanessa Wen-Xi Chen (CAL '14), emerging infectious disease research.
  • Kari Chesney (MO '14), veterinary pathology and research.
  • Dana Franzen (WIS '13), zoo animal and wildlife medicine.
  • Lauren Habenicht (COL '13), medical research.
  • Kathryn Hooper (ORS '12), shelter animal medicine and public health.
  • Carrie Muller (WES '14), small animal medicine and research.
  • Amelia Naher (WSU '13), food animal medicine.
  • Melissa Nashat (COR '13), infectious disease research.
  • Ravi Padte (COR '12), public health.
  • Timothy Perano (CAL '12), large animal medicine.
  • Alexander Piazza (MSU '12), surgery.
  • Megan Pozza (OSU '13), public health.
  • Cari Rasmussen (IL '14), shelter animal medicine.
  • Rochelle Reddig (KSU '12), mixed animal medicine.
  • Jose J. Rivera-Rivas (WIS '13), host-pathogen interaction research.
  • Carolina Salter (GA '12), oncology research.
  • Kate Schoenhals (ORS '12), large animal medicine.
  • Mary Thurber (WIS '14), epidemiology research.
  • Christopher Torre (UP '12), emergency and shelter animal medicine.
  • Laura Willard (MIN '14), disaster medicine.
  • Melissa Yu (TUF '13), nutrition and small animal medicine.

Christopher Torre (UP '12), was awarded a scholarship from the Mildred C. Sylvester Scholarship Fund.

Dr. Jody L. Gookin is the 2011 recipient of the AVMF/Winn Foundation Excellence in Feline Research Award, presented July 19 at the President's Installation Luncheon during the AVMA Annual Convention (see article). It is accompanied by a $2,500 cash award from Winn.

The award is paired with a matching scholarship by the AVMF to a veterinary student interested in feline medicine. This year's scholarship was awarded to Dr. Jessica L. Balter (COR '11) in the amount of $2,500. The two awards are designed to promote and encourage feline health studies by established veterinary research scientists and those entering this field of study.

Finally, the Foundation announced Kimberly Hitt (MIS '12) and Emily Meyer (NCU '12) as the winners of a scholarship award made possible through a partnership with the American Kennel Club Canine Health Foundation and the AVMF. Each will receive $3,000.

For more information about the AVMF, visit