Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Michigan Veterinary Conference


Michigan veterinariansEvent: Annual conference, Jan. 25-27, Lansing
Program: The conference, held jointly by the Michigan VMA and Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine, had more than 1,600 attendees and offered 150 hours of continuing education.
Awards: W. Kenneth McKersie Service Award: Dr. David F. Carron, Farmington, for cumulative services and accomplishments benefiting the veterinary profession, the community, and the Michigan VMA. A 1977 graduate of Michigan State University, Dr. Carron owns Plaza Veterinary Hospital in Farmington. He is a past president of the MVMA and has facilitated children's pet care programs and mentored young veterinarians for 20 years. Community Service Award: David D. Glenn, Rochester Hills, won this award, given to a nonveterinarian whose contributions have benefited society. A science teacher at Rochester Adams High School, Glenn, in partnership with Dr. William Ebinger of Oakland Animal Hospital, helped establish a course at the high school that exposes students to veterinary medicine in a clinical setting. Drs. Matt Monica, Oakland Animal Hospital, and Ebinger were also honored for their contributions to the Rochester Community Schools Veterinary Class.
Officials: Drs. Hylon Heaton, Grand Blanc, president; Paula Rode, Chelsea, president-elect; James Lloyd, Okemos, 1st vice president; Franklin Carmona, Troy, 2nd vice president; and Stephen Steep, Rochester Hills, immediate past president


Nebraska VMA  


Nebraska veterinariansEvent: Annual conference, Jan. 24-26, Lincoln
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Robert Stout, Alliance. A 1971 graduate of Iowa State University, Dr. Stout has been a partner at Alliance Animal Clinic since 1973. He has a special interest in feedlot medicine, practice management, and mentoring students in veterinary medicine and veterinary technology. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Bruce Brodersen, Lincoln. Dr. Brodersen received his DVM degree from Iowa State University in 1983. He serves as an associate research professor and pathologist at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory. Dr. Brodersen was instrumental in developing the immunohistochemical test on skin biopsy specimens for detecting cattle that are persistently infected with the bovine viral diarrhea virus.
Officials: Drs. Ron Wallman, Seward, president; Phil Hardenburger, Crete, president-elect; Bruce Brodersen, Lincoln, secretary-treasurer; and Ken Mertens, Bloomfield, immediate past president