California VMA
Published on August 15, 2006
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Event: Annual meeting, June 23-25, San Francisco
Awards: Dan Evans Memorial Award: Dr. Jerry Black, Oakdale, won this award, honoring contributions to equine veterinary medicine. A 1971 graduate of Colorado State University and a past president of the American Association of Equine Practitioners, Dr. Black is senior partner at Pioneer Equine Hospital in Oakdale. He encourages and implements internships and preceptee positions in his hospital. Outstanding RVT-of-the-Year Award: Windi Wojdak, Santa Cruz. Native Nations coordinator for the Humane Society of the United States' Rural Area Veterinary Services, Wojdak works with American Indian reservations, enabling RAVS to provide veterinary services such as rabies vaccinations and spaying/neutering. She volunteered her services in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, coordinating and overseeing logistic support for its victims. Meritorious Service Award: Fred Bergendorff, San Diego. Founder and host of the television show "The Pet Place," Bergendorff was the first recipient of this award, honoring those who give special attention to and/or promote the human-animal bond in California. "The Pet Place" works closely with several animal shelters and rescue groups in the area, highlighting adoptable animals on the show. Distinguished Life Membership Award: Drs. Joan Samuels, Buellton, and Dick Schumacher, Benicia. A 1977 graduate of Michigan State University, Dr. Samuels founded the Buellton Veterinary Clinic in 1981. She is a past president of the California VMA, has chaired its house of delegates, and served on its board of governors. Dr. Samuels has also served as California's delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates and as the District X representative to the AVMA Executive Board. A 1961 graduate of Iowa State University, Dr. Schumacher served as executive director of the CVMA from 1991-2004. He was instrumental in establishing the California Coalition of Companion Animal Advocates, working to reduce the euthanasia of dogs and cats in shelters.
Officials: Drs. Ron Faoro, Santa Barbara, president; Jeff Smith, Middletown, president-elect; George Bishop, Carmel, treasurer; and Eric Weigand, Claremont, immediate past president