Over the top: AABP confers awards

Bovine contributions noted
Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old



Drs. Jarrett (left) and AmstutzSix AABP members were recognized by their colleagues during the annual conference in Columbus, Ohio.

The AABP's highest honor went to executive vice president, Dr. James A. Jarrett (GA '60). Dr. Jarrett was the ninth recipient of the Amstutz-Williams Award, established in 1984. AABP president (2002-2003), Dr. Patty Scharko said Dr. Jarrett went beyond the call of duty numerous times, numerous years. The stars were aligned, she said, that he should receive the top honor this year: 25 years ago he was AABP president, and this year he's finishing his 10th conference as coordinator. He has an extensive resume.

The award's namesakes are the late Dr. Eric I. Williams and Dr. Harold Amstutz, who was on hand to present it. "Jim, we are extremely grateful for the many years of service you have given us," Dr. Amstutz said. "We are especially proud and happy with the last fabulous 10 years, during which you have led us to new heights. I, personally, and the whole AABP honors you."

Dr. Robert A. SmithThe award is a hand-carved bull, symbolizing the strength of the AABP.

The Fort Dodge/AABP Bovine Practitioner of the Year Award, consisting of a plaque and diamond ring, went to Dr. Robert A. Smith (KSU '76), editor of the AABP publication, The Bovine Practitioner. In presenting the award, Dr. Del Miles said Dr. Smith "may be the best all-around person with whom I have ever had the opportunity to interact." Dr. Smith served on the Oklahoma State University faculty for 26 years before retiring. He was also involved in various other areas of bovine practice. For two years, he was in active military duty, then served in the Reserve for 23 years, discharged as a lieutenant colonel. "I'm so deeply honored and think so much of this organization and what it stands for," Dr. Smith said.

Dr. Steven E. WikseDr. Steven E. Wikse (CAL '66), College Station, Texas, received the Alpharma/AABP Award of Excellence. Dr. Wikse entered academia after owning a mixed practice for six years. For the past 14 years, he has been a beef cattle clinician at Texas A&M University, teaching veterinary students, presenting extension programs, and lecturing internationally. A diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists, he has completed 15 funded research projects and served on 14 graduate-level committees. His community involvement includes an outreach, with his wife, to those who have suffered catastrophic losses.

Dr. Wade TaylorThe MerialAgVet/AABP Award for Excellence in Veterinary Preventive Medicine goes to a beef practitioner and a dairy practitioner (or practices) who have developed outstanding programs.

The beef award went to Dr. Wade Taylor (KSU '80), Oakley, Kan. Generous in his commitment to organized veterinary medicine, Dr. Taylor has served on many advisory boards, as a board member and past president of the Academy of Veterinary Consultants, as an AABP board and committee member, and as a Kansas VMA committee member. When not with his family or volunteering in the community, he works for 30 to 40 feeding operations in the fed-calf and cow-calf industries. Dr. Taylor is also CEO of a company that helps clients do a better job of evaluating and marketing fed cattle through ultrasound technologies.

Dr. Fernando AlvarezDr. Fernando Alvarez (MEX '78), Queretaro, Mexico, received the dairy award. After practicing in Washington state, he returned to Queretaro and established a solo practice. Dr. Alvarez helped develop a co-op that built a mastitis laboratory and a feed analysis laboratory to assist clients with herd management. He invited veterinarians to assist with embryo transfer services, management consultation, and client continuing education. His practice grew to include milk quality, nutritional consultation, replacement care, facility design, lameness prevention, and dairy records. Dr. Alvarez changed the way area dairy farmers utilize veterinary services.

Dr. Charles E. GardnerDr. Charles E. Gardner (COR '73), Orefield, Pa., received the Pfizer Animal Health/AABP Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Gardner has provided traditional services to large and small dairy herds. He is a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners and has an MBA degree. Currently, he is with Agway Feed and Nutrition, where he has been a technical service veterinarian, director of animal health and the Agway TSPF Heifer Program, and a regional sales manager. He has published more than 700 articles and is active in the AABP and local associations. Dr. Gardner presents marriage enrichment programs, and is said to embody the spirit of giving and selfless service.