October 15, 2015


 South Dakota VMA

Posted Sept. 30, 2015

Dr. James McKnight Dr. Sam Holland Dr. Chanda Nilsson Dr. Christy Teets

Event: Annual meeting, Aug. 9-12, Sioux Falls
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. James McKnight, Brookings. Following his graduation from the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine in 1963, Dr. McKnight founded McKnight Veterinary Clinic, a mixed animal practice in Brookings. He has focused on large animal medicine since 1991, also serving as a relief veterinarian in South Dakota and surrounding states. Dr. McKnight is a past president of the SDVMA and Interstate VMA and served on the South Dakota Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners for eight years. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Sam Holland, Pierre, won this award, given in honor of an individual who has brought distinction to the veterinary profession through professional and personal achievements and by serving as an inspiration to veterinarians and their clients. A 1971 graduate of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Holland is executive director of the South Dakota Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners. From 1995-2009, he served as South Dakota state veterinarian. As state veterinarian, Dr. Holland developed and implemented pseudorabies eradication programs in swine herds, programs to control bovine trichomoniasis, and a chronic wasting disease control program; helped eradicate brucellosis from buffalo herds; co-founded the South Dakota Beef Quality Assurance/Critical Management Plan; and helped establish one of the nation’s first state reserve veterinary medical officer corps. Emerging Leader Award: Dr. Chanda Nilsson, Bath, won this award, given to a member who has graduated in the preceding 10 years and has a record of outstanding accomplishments in veterinary research, private practice, regulatory services, civic activities, or organized veterinary medicine. A 2011 graduate of the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Nilsson practices mixed animal medicine at Groton Veterinary Clinic. She is a member of the SDVMA board of directors, representing District 2. Dr. Nilsson has also represented the SDVMA as an AVMA Emerging Leader.
Officials: Drs. Christy Teets, Rapid City, president; Travis White, Wessington Springs, president-elect; Michelle Jensen, Harrisburg, vice president; Mark Braunschmidt, Brandon, secretary-treasurer; Todd Carr, Sioux Falls, immediate past president; Chris Chase, Brookings, AVMA delegate; Cindy Franklin, Yankton, AVMA alternate delegate; Angela Anderson, Sioux Falls, District 1 representative; Chanda Nilsson, Groton, District 2 representative; and Ethan Andress, Hettinger, District 3 representative