September 01, 2013


 Assemblies: California VMA

 Dr. George W. Bishop​  Dr. Joan M. Samuels​  Dr. Greg E. Fellers​  Dr. Donald B. Conkling​

 Bonnie Lee Loghry​  Dr. Michael P. Andrews​  Dr. Ronald M. Kelpe​  Dr. Dayna E. Wiedenkeller
Event: Annual Pacific Veterinary Conference, June 20-23, Long Beach
Awards: Lifetime Achievement Award: Drs. George W. Bishop, Carmel, and Joan M. Samuels, Buellton, for their service to California veterinarians, organized veterinary medicine, academic veterinary medicine, and the CVMA. Dr. Bishop earned his DVM degree from The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine in 1965 and owns Animal Hospital at the Crossroads, a small animal practice in Carmel. A past president of the CVMA and California Veterinary Medical Foundation, he is the CVMA’s alternate delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates, chairs the CVMA Finance Committee, and is a member of the CVMA Political Action and Ways and Means committees. Dr. Bishop serves on the AVMA House Advisory Committee and is  treasurer of the Veterinary Insurance Services Company and CVMA. He is a past member of the AVMA Legislative Advisory Committee and co-chaired the first Pet Population Control Symposium in the country. A 1977 graduate of Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Samuels owns Buellton Veterinary Clinic, a small animal practice. She also manages an equine veterinary service. Dr. Samuels founded the Pet Overpopulation Symposium and was instrumental in establishing the Don Low/CVMA Fellowship. She served on the AVMA Executive Board from 1987-1995, representing District X. A past president of the CVMA, Dr. Samuels was the association’s delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates from 1994-1998. She is a past member of the AVMA Council on Education and has served on the CVMA Insurance, Legislative, Finance, Political Action, AVMA Advisory, and Ways and Means committees. Dan Evans Memorial Award: Dr. Greg E. Fellers, Seal Beach, won this award, given to an equine veterinarian who has been or is active in organized veterinary medicine on the local, state, or national level; has made important contributions to the field; and is exemplary in community involvement. A 1972 graduate of the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Fellers was a hospital administrator at Loomis Basin Equine Medical Center in Loomis prior to retirement. During his career at the center, he helped build its state-of-the-art equine hospital and established a veterinary internship program for new graduates and continuing education seminars for veterinarians. Dr. Fellers serves as head veterinarian for the Tevis Cup 100-mile endurance ride. Meritorious Service Award: Dr. Donald B. Conkling, San Bruno, won this award, given for meritorious service to animals and the veterinary profession and for promoting and celebrating the human-animal bond in California. A 1975 graduate of Oklahoma State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Conkling owns Masson Veterinary Hospital, a small animal practice in San Bruno. During his career, he has volunteered his services to the Center for Animal Protection and Education in Scotts Valley; provided pet therapy with his dog, Sophie, at Sunrise Assisted Living in San Mateo, where he also helped establish a pet therapy program and mentored new pet therapy teams; and got involved with the hospice program at Sutter VNA and Hospice in San Mateo, where he administered and mentored the pet therapy program. Linda Markland Outstanding RVT of the Year (nonprivate practice): Bonnie Lee Loghry, Yuba City. Loghry is an instructor in the veterinary technology program and a risk assessment and safety specialist at Yuba College in Marysville. She promotes veterinary technology as a career at local schools, leads the student chapter of the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America, creates mentoring programs, and advocates for continuing education for graduates of the veterinary technology program at Yuba College. Distinguished Life Membership Award: Dr. Michael P. Andrews, Oak Glen. A 1983 graduate of Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Andrews owns Woodcrest Veterinary Clinic and Calimesa Veterinary Clinic, small animal practices in Riverside and Calimesa, respectively. A past president of the American Animal Hospital Association and California VMA, he is a past chair of the AVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities and CVMA Governance Task Force, and was California’s delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates from 1999-2003. He has served on several CVMA committees, including the Registered Veterinary Technician, Legislative, Disaster Preparedness, and Finance committees.
Officials: Drs. Ronald M. Kelpe, Coto de Caza, president; Dayna E. Wiedenkeller, Anaheim, president-elect; George W. Bishop, Carmel, treasurer; and Chris C. Cowing, Foster City , immediate past president