AVMA XIIth International Veterinary Congress Prize

Nomination FormDeadline: February 15, 2018.

In 1934, funds raised for the entertainment of delegates to the XIIth International Veterinary Congress held in New York that year resulted in an unexpended balance. The U.S. Committee on Finance of that Congress met in 1936 to support an award to be known as the AVMA XIIth International Veterinary Congress Prize that recognizes outstanding service by a member of the Association who has contributed to international understanding of veterinary medicine.

Nomination and Selection Procedures

AVMA members may nominate qualified veterinarians, who are members of the AVMA, for this award.

Each nomination must include:

  • Completed nomination form
  • Cover letter that includes a brief sketch of the nominee's background and a statement pertaining to the nominee's qualifications for the award
  • Nominee's curriculum vitae

Please note that letters seconding, endorsing or supporting nominations for this award will not be used in evaluating nominees.

The AVMA Committee on International Veterinary Affairs (CIVA) will review nominations and select the recipient at its spring meeting. The AVMA will notify both the nominator and the awardee thereafter, and the winner will be honored at that year's AVMA Annual Convention, during the Global Health Networking Reception.

An awardee may not be selected in a given year if no nominee for that year meets the criteria for selection.

Questions? Email avma-awards@avma.org.​

2017 Dr. Andrew Clark, OR
2016 Dr. Craig Carter, KY
2015 Dr. Terry Wollen, CT
2014 Dr. Linda Logan, TX
2013 Dr. Corrie Brown, GA
2012 Dr. Cleon Kimberling, CO
2011 Dr. Paula Cowen, CO
2010 Dr. Gary Vroegindewey, VA
2009 Dr. Karen M. Becker, MD
2008 Dr. Colin F. Burrows, FL
2007 Dr. M.D. (Mo) Salman, CO
2006 Dr. David M. Sherman, MA
2005 Dr. Joe Kornegay, MO
2004 Dr. Bernard C. Easterday, WI
2003 Dr. Albrecht K. Eugster, TX
2002 Dr. Charles M. Barnes, TX
2001 Dr. James A. Roth, IA
2000 Dr. Leon H. Russell, TX