AVMA Meritorious Service Award

Nomination FormDeadline: February 15, 2018.

The AVMA Meritorious Service Award recognizes an individual veterinarian who has brought public honor and distinction to the veterinary profession through personal, professional, or community service activities that are conducted outside the scope of organized veterinary medicine or research.

Nomination and Selection Procedures

AVMA members may nominate qualified veterinarians who are members of the AVMA for this award.

Each nomination must include:

  • Completed nomination form, including all requested information
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Cover letter including a brief sketch of the nominee's professional background and a statement pertaining to the individual's qualifications for the award

​The House Advisory Committee will review the applications and forward up to three candidates to the AVMA Board of Directors, which will review the nominations and select the recipient at its spring meeting.

An awardee may not be selected in a given year if no nominee for that year meets the criteria for selection.

Questions? Email avma-awards@avma.org.​

2017 Dr. Bruce Kaplan
2016 Dr. Roger McClellan, NM
2015 Dr. Stuart Nelson, ID
2014 Dr. Jeffrey Klausner, OR
2013 Dr. Cathy King, ND
2012 U.S. Army Veterinary Corps
2009-2011 No award given
2008 Dr. Theodore B. Robinson, PA
2007 Dr. Catherine Lund, RI
2006 Senator Wayne Allard, DC
2005 Dr. Early Maxwell "Max" Sink, NC
2004 Dr. W. Ron DeHaven, DC
2003 Dr. John Melcher, DC
2002 Dr. Bernard R. Pinckney, WA