AVMA Humane Award

Nomination Form—Deadline: February 1, 2016​

This award is given annually to a non-veterinarian to recognize his/her achievements in advancing the welfare of animals via leadership, public service, education, research/product development, and/or advocacy. The AVMA's intent in bestowing this award is to encourage attention to animal welfare within the context of responsible animal use and to reward thoughtful and science-based animal welfare advocacy.


  • Only non-veterinarians are eligible for the Humane Award. The Animal Welfare Award is the corresponding award for veterinarians.
  • Nominations may be submitted by
    • Individuals 18 years or older (AVMA members and non-members) and
    • Organizations (governmental and nongovernmental)
  • Nominations must reflect specific accomplishments in the field of animal welfare, as opposed to support and promotion of the human-animal bond. The latter, while laudable, is not the focus of this award.
  • Nominations may be based on a sustained effort or an extraordinary single achievement in any or all of the following areas:
    • Leadership
    • Public Service (e.g., community programs, public policy development)
    • Research and/or product development
    • Education, and/or
    • Advocacy
  • Recipients must be available and willing to attend a presentation ceremony and participate in other recognition activities.

Anyone may nominate an eligible individual by completing the nomination form and returning the form and appropriate supporting material (as described below) by February 1, 2016 to "AVMA Humane Award", AVMF, 1931 N. Meacham Rd, Suite 100, Schaumburg, IL 60173.

Supporting Material

  • Each nomination must include:
    • A completed nomination form (located above),
    • A copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae/resume (not to exceed 2 double-sided typed pages),
    • A detailed letter of nomination (not to exceed 3 single-sided typed pages), which describes how the nominee has met the award criteria.
  • Each nomination may also include up to 3 letters of support (not to exceed 3 single-sided typed pages each) for the nomination from veterinarians, colleagues, or organizations.

Election Process

  • Members of the AVMA Animal Welfare Committee select the recipient of the Humane Award.
  • Preference will be given to nominees who:
    • Recognize that science, ethics, and culture all contribute to how animals are used and cared for by people, and respect those contributions in arriving at solutions to animal welfare challenges,
    • Work with a variety of stakeholders to raise awareness of issues of concern and engage those stakeholders in seeking solutions to challenges,
    • Work actively to improve understanding of animal welfare needs and, when necessary, change human attitudes and behavior to ensure proper stewardship,
    • Communicate information about, and propose solutions to, animal welfare challenges with courage and integrity.
  • At the discretion of the Animal Welfare Committee, an award may not be presented in any given year.

Nominations should be sent to the "AVMA Humane Award", AVMF, 1931 N. Meacham Rd., Suite 100, Schaumburg, IL 60173 for receipt no later than the deadline date specified above.

Questions? Email avma-awards@avma.org or call 847-285-6709.

2015 Dr. John McGlone, TX
2014 Mr. Ralph Johnson, CO
2013 Mr. Mark Tinsman, DE
2012 Dr. Camie Heleski, MI
2011 Anne Lindsay, MA
2010 Kathryn Warnick, MO
2009 Cynthia Bathurst, PhD, IL
2008 Sharon Harmon, OR
2007 Bernard Rollins, PhD, CO
2006 No Award Given
2005 Jeff Goodwin, PhD, CO
2004 Carolyn Danese, GA
2003 Detective Mike Duffey, AZ
2002 Steve Dale, IL