Virginia VMA – February 22-24, 2024


The Virginia VMA (VVMA) held its Virginia Veterinary Conference from February 22-24 in Roanoke.


Paul F. Landis Veterinarian of the Year

Dr. Martin Betts (Ohio State ’81), Charlottesville. Dr. Betts is a partner at Charlottesville Veterinary Clinic. He also volunteers his time at spay and neuter and vaccination clinics in the area. A past president of the VVMA, Dr. Betts has served on the board of directors of the Service Dogs of Virginia and the Charlottesville Albemarle Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals.

Mentor of the Year

Dr. Sherrie Clark (Virginia-Maryland ’96), Blacksburg. A diplomate of the American College of Theriogenology, Dr. Clark is a professor of theriogenology and associate department head of large animal clinical sciences at Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine.

Veterinary Service Award

Dr. Cassie Wagner (Virginia-Maryland ’13), Richmond. Dr. Wagner serves as student services representative with the AVMA Trust. She previously served as director of alumni relations at Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine.

Distinguished Virginia Veterinarian

Dr. Melinda McCall (Virginia-Maryland ’04), Louisa. A large animal veterinarian, Dr. McCall owns Louisa Veterinary Service. She also volunteers her services to local vaccination clinics via the Louisa Community Animal Response Team and Louisa Police Department and serves on the board of directors of the Louisa County Agricultural Fair. Dr. McCall is a past president of the VVMA.

Early Career Leadership Award

Dr. Jamie Stewart (Illinois ’13), Blacksburg. Dr. Stewart is an assistant professor of production management medicine at Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine and represents the veterinary college on the VVMA board of directors as an at-large director. She has also served as an ad hoc member of the Society for Theriogenology’s Scientific Abstract Committee.


Drs. Nathaniel Burke, Luray, president; Brian Neumann, Alexandria, president-elect; Sherri Field Gard, Suffolk, vice president; Courtney Conroy, Amissville, secretary-treasurer; and Lauren Maxey, Alexandria, immediate past president