Virginia VMA – February 16-18, 2023


The Virginia VMA (VVMA) held its Virginia Veterinary Conference from February 16-18 in Roanoke


Paul F. Landis Veterinarian of the Year

Dr. Samuel Tate (Michigan State '67), Yorktown. Dr. Tate served 20 years with the Air Force Veterinary Corps. During that time, he was a staff veterinarian, chief of veterinary services, and chief of environmental health services. Dr. Tate helped establish the Virginia State Animal Response Team. He served as secretary-treasurer and director of the former Greater Peninsula VMA.

Mentor of the Year

Dr. Roger Ramirez-Barrios, Blacksburg. A 1994 veterinary graduate of the University of Zulia in Maracaibo, Venezuela, Dr. Ramirez-Barrios is a clinical associate professor of veterinary parasitology at the Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine.

Veterinary Service Award

Dr. Jennifer McFarling (Virginia-Maryland '03), Roanoke. Dr. McFarling serves as a veterinarian and medical director for the Roanoke Valley SPCA. She has overseen veterinary student clerkships, volunteered as a student mentor at Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine, and held a leadership role with the Roanoke VMA.

Distinguished Virginia Veterinarian

Dr. Teresa Miller (Georgia '61), Forest. Dr. Miller owned Timberlake Animal Hospital in Lynchburg for 44 years prior to retirement. She also served two terms on the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Miller is active with the American Saddlebred Horse Association of Virginia, Virginia Horse Shows Association, and United States Equestrian Federation.

Recent Graduate Leadership Award

Dr. Dianna Thornton (Michigan State '15), Arlington. Dr. Thornton practices at Caring Hands Animal Hospital in Arlington. She serves as Virginia's alternate delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates and volunteers with Caring Hands Animal Support & Education, a nonprofit organization. Dr. Thornton has participated in the VVMA Power of 10 Leadership Program.


Drs. Lauren Maxey, Alexandria, president; Nathaniel Burke, Luray, president-elect; Brian Neumann, Alexandria, vice president; Courtney Conroy, Amissville, secretary-treasurer; and Martin Betts, Charlottesville, immediate past president

A version of this story appears in the July 2023 print issue of JAVMA.