Virginia VMA - Feb. 24-26, 2022


Virginia Veterinary Conference, Feb. 24-26, Roanoke


Paul F. Landis Veterinarian of the Year
Dr. Jason Bollenbeck (Illinois ’98), Purcellville. Dr. Bollenbeck is co-owner and a partner at Towne Animal Clinic in Leesburg. He is a past president of the Virginia and Loudoun County VMAs.

Distinguished Virginia Veterinarian
Dr. Maureen Ward (Virginia-Maryland ’09), Singers Glen. Dr. Ward owns Harrisonburg Animal Hospital in Harrisonburg. She serves on the Veterinary Technology Curriculum Advisory Committee at Blue Ridge Community College.

Veterinary Service Award
Dr. Heather Jenkins-Brazzell (Virginia-Maryland ’98), Galax. Dr. Jenkins-Brazzell is the owner of Healing Springs Animal Hospital in Galax. She is certified in veterinary acupuncture. Dr. Jenkins-Brazzell serves as secretary of the emergency preparedness committee for the city of Galax and Carroll and Grayson counties.

Recent Graduate Leadership Award
Dr. Courtney Conroy (Virginia-Maryland ’17), Warrenton. Dr. Conroy is an associate veterinarian at Clevengers Corner Veterinary Care in Amissville. She serves as an at-large director and as a veterinarian facilitator for the VVMA’s Power of 10 Leadership Program.

Mentor of the Year
Dr. Anne Bazilwich (Virginia-Maryland ’97), Blacksburg. Dr. Bazilwich practices at the Roanoke Valley Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals in Roanoke.


Drs. Martin Betts, Charlottesville, president; Lauren Maxey, Alexandria, president-elect; Nathaniel Burke, Luray, vice president; Brian Neumann, Alexandria, secretary-treasurer; and Terry Swecker, Blacksburg, immediate past president

A version of this article appears in the July 2022 print issue of JAVMA.