United States Animal Health Association – Oct. 6-12, 2022


126th annual meeting, in person and virtual, Oct. 6-12, 2022, Minneapolis


The meeting, held jointly with the American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians, drew more than 1,300 attendees. Peter Zeihan, Morrison, Colorado, an author and geopolitical strategist, presented the keynote address, “Getting Through the End of the World” with a focus on agriculture and natural resources. The address reflected on the impacts of the Russia-Ukraine war, Chinese political and economic influence, and global social indicators that ultimately influence consumer access to goods and services in the United States.


USAHA Federal Partnership Award

Dr. Torchetti
Dr. L. Mia Kim Torchetti

Dr. L. Mia Kim Torchetti (Colorado State ’97), Ames, Iowa. Dr. Torchetti works for the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, serving as avian section head for the National Veterinary Services Laboratory and as a supervisory medical officer for the NVSL Diagnostic Virology Laboratory.

USAHA Medal of Distinction

Dr. Parr
Dr. Boyd Parr
Dr. Jones
Dr. Annette Jones

Drs. Boyd Parr (Georgia ’78), Clemson, South Carolina, and Annette Jones (California-Davis ’98), Sacramento, California. Dr. Parr was South Carolina state veterinarian and director of Clemon University Livestock Poultry Health prior to retirement in 2021. Dr. Jones is California state veterinarian and director of Animal Health and Food Safety Services for the California Department of Food and Agriculture. Dr. Parr was recognized for his leadership while serving as a member of the executive committee and as president of the USAHA and for his advocacy. Dr. Jones was honored for her service as treasurer of the USAHA and for going above and beyond in service to the association.

APHIS Administrator’s Award

Paul Zajicek

Paul Zajicek, Tallahassee, Florida. Zajicek is executive director of the National Aquaculture Association.

National Assembly of State Animal Health Officials Service Award

Dr. Valerie Koenig (Tufts ’13), Uxbridge, Massachusetts. Dr. Koenig serves as epidemiology officer for New England with the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.


Thirty-two resolutions were approved. They are available in the resolutions section of the USAHA website.


Steve Rommereim
Dr. Crawford
Dr. Steve Crawford

Steve Rommereim, Alcester, South Dakota, president; Dr. Steve Crawford, Concord, New Hampshire, president-elect; Dr. Peter Mundschenk, Phoenix, first vice president; Dr. Charles Broaddus, Richmond, Virginia, second vice president; Dr. Justin Smith, Manhattan, Kansas, third vice president; Dr. Beth Thompson, Pierre, South Dakota, treasurer; and Dr. Dustin Oedekoven, Pierre, South Dakota, immediate past president