United States Animal Health Association - April 2022


125th annual meeting, in person and virtual, Oct. 22-26, 2021, Denver


The meeting, held jointly with the American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians (see story), drew nearly 1,400 attendees. Tom Vilsack, U.S. secretary of agriculture, and Jennifer Moffitt, U.S. undersecretary of agriculture for marketing and regulatory programs, presented the keynote address on U.S. Department of Agriculture perspectives on the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, preparedness for agriculture, and thoughts for the future in preparation for the next farm bill. USAHA committees held virtual sessions, including presentations and reports, prior to the meeting.


Dr. Palmer
Dr. Mitch Palmer

USAHA Federal Partnership Award
Dr. Mitch Palmer (Purdue ’89), Ames, Iowa. Dr. Palmer is a veterinary medical officer with the USDA Agricultural Research Service. He has spent almost 30 years conducting studies on infectious diseases with an emphasis on tuberculosis and brucellosis.

USAHA Medal of Distinction
Kevin Shea, Washington, D.C. Shea is administrator of the USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. He was recognized for his leadership in animal health and for strengthening the partnerships between state, federal, and industry animal health stakeholders.

Dr. Frederickson
Dr. Richard Frederickson Jr.

APHIS Administrator’s Award and National Assembly Award
Dr. Richard Frederickson Jr. (Iowa State ’90), Urbana, Illinois. Dr. Frederickson is director of the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory at the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine. He was recognized for his management of a human COVID-19 testing site in addition to managing increased capacity for animal disease testing.


Eighteen resolutions were approved. Also approved was a new strategic plan for 2022-27 that will continue work on the association’s engagement with stakeholders and evolving committee work in animal health.


Dr. Oedekoven
Dr. Dustin Oedekoven
Dr. Rommereim
Dr. Steve Rommereim

Dr. Dustin Oedekoven, Pierre, South Dakota, president; Steve Rommereim, Alcester, South Dakota, president-elect; Dr. Manoel Tamassia, Trenton, New Jersey, first vice president; Dr. Peter Mundschenk, Phoenix, second vice president; Dr. Charles Broaddus, Richmond, Virginia, third vice president; Dr. Beth Thompson, St. Paul, Minnesota, treasurer; and Dr. Charlie Hatcher, Nashville, Tennessee, immediate past president

A version of this article appears in the April 2022 print issue of JAVMA.