Tennessee VMA – Feb. 10-12, 2023


Music City Veterinary Conference, February 10-12, Murfreesboro


Walter R. Clark Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Mullins
Dr. John Mullins

Dr. John Mullins (Tennessee ’80), Chattanooga. Dr. Mullins owns the Animal Care Center of Ooltewah. During his career, he has worked in Africa, taking care of animals belonging to subsistence farmers. Dr. Mullins is a member of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services National Disaster Medical System’s National Veterinary Response Team-3. He was recognized for his work with disaster relief and assistance with cases involving animal neglect.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Geiser
Dr. Dennis Geiser

Dr. Dennis Geiser (Illinois ’72), Knoxville. A diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners, Dr. Geiser is a professor emeritus at the University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine. During his tenure at the veterinary college, he served as assistant dean for outreach and organizational development. Dr. Geiser has also served as a consultant for the Anheuser Busch Clydesdale horses. He is a past president of the Tennessee VMA.


The Tennessee VMA renamed its Distinguished Service Award as the Walter R. Clark Distinguished Service Award to honor longtime member Dr. Walter R. Clark for his years of dedicated service to the veterinary profession and to the association.


Dr. Reynolds
Dr. Forrest Reynolds
Dr. Shulman
Dr. Marissa Shulman

Drs. Forrest Reynolds, Franklin, president; Marissa Shulman, Chattanooga, president-elect; Cindy Schmidt, Jackson, vice president; Mary Chorney-Carter, Fayetteville, secretary-treasurer; and Bob Parker, Memphis, immediate past president