Missouri VMA – Jan. 26-29, 2023

March 01, 2023


131st annual convention, Jan. 26-29, Columbia


The convention drew more than 500 attendees, including veterinarians, veterinary technicians, practice staff members, and veterinary students. More than 60 continuing education lectures were offered to the participants.


Veterinarian of the Year

Dr. Ryan
Dr. Carol Ryan

Dr. Carol Ryan (Missouri ’92), Wentzville. Missouri’s alternate delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates, Dr. Ryan practices mixed animal medicine at Troy & Wentzville Veterinary Clinics. She is a past president of the Missouri VMA and Missouri VMA Academy and is a past co-chair of the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board.

President’s Award

Dr. Hammerle
Dr. Marcy Hammerle
Dr. Lux
Dr. Mark Lux

Drs. Marcy Hammerle (Missouri ’03), St. Charles, and Mark Lux (Missouri ’82), St. Louis. Dr. Hammerle owns The Pet Doctor, a small animal practice in O’Fallon. She is certified in canine rehabilitation. Dr. Hammerle is a past president of the MVMA. Dr. Lux owns Mackenzie Pointe Animal Hospital in St. Louis. He serves as chairperson of the MVMA Scope of Practice Committee. Dr. Lux is a past president of the Greater St. Louis VMA.

Robert E. Hertzog Veterinary Leadership Award

Dr. Strubberg
Dr. Steve Strubberg

Dr. Steve Strubberg (Missouri ’89), Hermann. Dr. Strubberg has served as Missouri state veterinarian since 2019. He previously owned Hermann Veterinary Clinic for almost 30 years.

Ortu Stella Award

Dr. Sadina Scott (Missouri ’13), Shawnee, Kansas. Dr. Scott owns Family Pet Hospital of Shawnee. Vice president of the Kansas City VMA, she serves on the MVMA Legislative Committee and is a graduate of the MVMA’s Power of Ten Leadership Program.

Legislative Leadership Award

State Sen. Justin Brown, Rolla. Brown represents Missouri’s 16th senatorial district. He owns a farm, where he maintains a cow-calf operation. Brown was recognized for legislative leadership consistent with the mission of the MVMA.

Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Shelia Taylor (Missouri ’92), Springfield. Recently retired, Dr. Taylor was formerly in private practice and taught at Ozarks Technical Community College. She serves as secretary-treasurer of the MVMA.

Missouri VMA Academy Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Brandon Thornberry (Missouri ’16), Kirkwood. Dr. Thornberry practices at Carevet in Kirkwood.


Dr. Silvius
Dr. Matt Silvius

MVMA—Dr. Matt Silvius, Riverside, president; Dr. Kacie Ulhorn, Hermann, president-elect; Dr. David Wilson, Columbia, vice president; Dr. Shelia Taylor, Springfield, secretary-treasurer; Dr. Edward Migneco, St. Louis, board chair; and Julie Braun, Jefferson City, executive director. Missouri VMA Academy—Drs. Todd Taylor, Parkville, president, and Jessica Gardner, Kearney, vice president. Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation—Drs. Philip R. Brown, Springfield, board co-chair; Scott Fray, Boonville, board co-chair; Marcy Hammerle, St. Charles, board vice chair; and George Buckaloo, Lake Tapawingo, secretary-treasurer