Kentucky VMA – Sept. 23-25, 2022


Annual meeting, Sept. 23-25


LaBore Award

Dr. Hodges
Dr. Kristan K. Hodges

This award was given posthumously to Dr. Kristan K. Hodges (Auburn ’76). Dr. Hodges began his career at Covington Animal Hospital in Covington and Crescent Springs Animal Hospital in Crescent Springs, later establishing Pioneer Valley Animal Clinic in Covington. A past president of the KVMA, he served as editor for the association’s Kentucky Veterinary News for more than 15 years. Dr. Hodges died April 12.

Veterinarian of the Year

Dr. Flynn
Dr. Katherine Flynn

Dr. Katherine Flynn, Georgetown. A 2001 veterinary graduate of the University of Glasgow in Scotland, Dr. Flynn has served as Kentucky state veterinarian since 2021. Earlier in her career, she was a veterinary specialist for the California Department of Food and Agriculture’s Animal Health Branch. Dr. Flynn is a past chair of the American Association of Equine Practitioners’ Infectious Disease Committee.

Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Brown
Dr. Stuart Brown

Dr. Stuart Brown (Tuskegee ’91), Versailles. Dr. Brown is vice president of equine safety at Keeneland Association, a racecourse and horse auction house in Lexington. He previously worked at Hagyard Equine Medical Institute for almost 30 years. A member of the AVMA House Advisory Committee, Dr. Brown has served as a commissioner for the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission, is a past president of the Kentucky VMA and Kentucky VMA Foundation, and is a past chair of the Gluck Equine Research Foundation.


Dr. Dean-Hines
Dr. Brigette Dean-Hines
Dr. Redmon
Dr. Ben Redmon

Drs. Brigette Dean-Hines, Simpsonville, president; Ben Redmon, Bowling Green, president-elect; Wade King, Frankfort, vice president; Lauren Mirus, Morehead, secretary-treasurer; Jason Rodgers, Paducah, immediate past president; and AVMA delegate and alternate delegate—Drs. Frank Vice, Flemingsburg, and Debra Shoulders, Bowling Green

A version of this article appears in the February 2023 print issue of JAVMA.