JAVMA, AJVR authors recognized for exceptional work

The AVMA Journals recognized the recipients of the second JAVMA Awards and AJVR Awards during AVMA Convention 2023 in Denver.

Student, intern, and resident authors of manuscripts whose work was judged as exceptional by the Associate Editor Board’s Awards Committee each received a certificate of achievement and a $500 award.



The recipients of the JAVMA Awards are as follows.



  • Drs. Emily A. Gavic, BluePearl Veterinary Partners, Southfield, Michigan; Sarah E. Achen, BluePearl Veterinary Partners, Southfield, Michigan; Phillip R. Fox, The Animal Medical Center, New York City; Eduardo J. Benjamin, Washington State University; Jonathan Goodwin, Washington State University; Tamilselvam Gunasekaran, BluePearl Veterinary Partners, Southfield, Michigan; Karsten E. Schober, The Ohio State University; Sonja S. Tjostheim, University of Wisconsin-Madison; John Vickers, Castle Pines Veterinary Hospital, Castle Pines, Colorado; Jessica L. Ward, Iowa State University; Duncan S. Russell, Oregon State University; Mark Rishniw, Veterinary Information Network, Davis, California; Sarah A. Hamer, Texas A&M University; and co-author Ashley B. Saunders, Texas A&M University, for "Trypanosoma cruzi infection diagnosed in dogs in nonendemic areas and results from a survey suggest a need for increased Chagas disease awareness in North America."




The recipients of the AJVR Awards are as follows.