Indiana VMA – Feb. 2-4, 2023


Crossroads Veterinary Conference, Feb. 2-4, Noblesville


The conference drew more than 475 registrants. On offer were 20 hours of continuing education. Awards were presented during the membership meeting on Feb. 2.


Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Max Rodibaugh (Purdue ’77), was recognized posthumously for cumulative service and accomplishments benefiting the veterinary profession, organized veterinary medicine, and the community. Dr. Rodibaugh owned a swine practice in Frankfort, Indiana. He also served as an adjunct faculty member at Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Rodibaugh was a past president of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians.

President’s Award

Dr. Matt Cantrell (Purdue ’10), LaGrange, for exceptional contributions to the association. Dr. Cantrell practices at Community Pet Healthcare in Zionsville. A past president of the IVMA, he led the IVMA Efficiency Working Group in 2022.

Volunteer of the Year

Dr. Tony Rumschlag (Purdue ’85), Noblesville, for leadership or service to a project or program of the association. Dr. Rumschlag worked for Elanco Animal Health prior to retirement. A past president of the IVMA, he oversaw the IVMA Staffing Task Force in 2022. Dr. Rumschlag serves on the board of directors of the Indiana Animal Health Foundation.

Achievement Award

Dr. Katie Becker (Purdue ’17), Indianapolis, won this award, given to an IVMA member who has graduated within the preceding five years and has made outstanding accomplishments in veterinary research, civic activities, academia, or organized veterinary medicine. Dr. Becker practices at Fall Creek Veterinary Medical Center in McCordsville. She serves as vice president and treasurer of the Central Indiana VMA.


Dr. Greg Kurtz, Hagerstown, president; Dr. Lindsey Hedges-Gieseking, Lebanon, president-elect; Dr. Corey Swart, Kokomo, treasurer; Dr. Aaron Johnson, Fishers, immediate past president; and Lisa A. Perius, Indianapolis, executive director