Colorado VMA – Sept. 30, 2022


Annual meeting, Sept. 30, 2022, Keystone


Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Carsten
Dr. Ron Carsten

Dr. Ron Carsten (Colorado State ’86), Glenwood Springs. Dr. Carsten owns Birch Tree Animal Hospital in Glenwood Springs. Certified in veterinary acupuncture, he incorporates holistic medicine into his practice. Dr. Carsten is also certified in canine rehabilitation therapy. Dr. Carsten is a past president of the Colorado State Board of Veterinary Medicine. Known as a professional and respectful mediator during meetings of the CSBVM, he was recognized for his service as president of the board.

Veterinarian of the Year

Dr.  Magee
Dr. Christianne Magee

Dr. Christianne Magee (Tufts ’04), Fort Collins. Dr. Magee is an associate professor in the Department of Biomedical Sciences at Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences. A diplomate of the American College of Theriogenologists, Dr. Magee was honored for her attentiveness to her students and her interest in the professional development and careers of the next generation of veterinarians.

President’s Award

Dr. McCormick
Dr. Karen McCormick
Joann Ginal

Dr. Karen McCormick (Florida ’84), Longmont, and state Sen. Joann Ginal, Fort Collins. Dr. McCormick is a member of the Colorado House of Representatives, representing the 11th district. From 1996-2012, she owned Alpine Hospital for Animals in Boulder. Ginal serves as vice chair of the Colorado Senate Health and Human Services Committee. Dr. McCormick and Ginal were the key sponsors of the renewal bill for the Colorado veterinary practice act during the 2022 Colorado legislative session.


Dr. Dick
Dr. Steven Dick
Dr. Walsh
Dr. Kelly Walsh

Drs. Steven Dick, Denver, president; Kelly Walsh, Colorado Springs, president-elect; Michelle Larsen, Denver, secretary-treasurer; Kayla Henderson, Monte Vista, secretary-treasurer–elect; Ashley Ackley, Denver, immediate past president; and AVMA delegate and alternative delegate—Drs. Curtis Crawford, Monte Vista, and Peter Hellyer, Fort Collin