Colorado VMA - April 2022


Annual meeting, held virtually, Dec. 5, 2021


Distinguished Service Award
Robert E. Lee, PhD, Fort Collins. Dr. Lee served as coordinator of the teaching laboratory for animal anatomy in the Department of Biomedical Sciences at Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences for 40 years prior to retirement in 2021. As coordinator, he provided teaching materials for functional anatomy, surgical anatomy, reproductive biology, veterinary neuroscience, and undergraduate comparative anatomy, and he played an important role in training veterinary students.

Veterinarian of the Year
Dr. Matt Fordham (Colorado State ’04), Aurora. Dr. Fordham owns Tall Grass Animal Hospital in Aurora. He previously served as director of VCA MountainView Animal Hospital & Pet Lodge in Highlands Ranch. Dr. Fordham was recognized for exceptional leadership via his efforts to maintain close communication with his team and support his employees during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

President’s Award
Leo Boyle, Denver. Boyle serves as the lobbyist for the CVMA. He was recognized for his work in advocating for Colorado’s veterinarians, including his guidance during the sunset review process for the Colorado Veterinary Practice Act in 2021 and 2022.


Drs. Ashley Ackley, Denver, president; Steven Dick, Denver, president-elect; Kelly Walsh, Colorado Springs, secretary-treasurer; Michelle Larsen, Denver, secretary-treasurer–elect; Jackie Christakos, Littleton, immediate past president; and AVMA delegate and alternate delegate—Drs. Curtis Crawford, Monte Vista, and Peter Hellyer, Fort Collins

A version of this article appears in the April 2022 print issue of JAVMA.