Association of Avian Veterinarians – Aug. 14-18, 2022


Annual meeting, ExoticsCon 2022, Aug.14-18, Denver


Dr.  Hoppes
Dr. Sharman Hoppes

T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner Award
Dr. Sharman Hoppes (Oklahoma State ’93), College Station, Texas. A professor emerita of the zoological medicine service at Texas A&M University School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Dr. Hoppes owns Texas Avian & Exotic Hospital in Grapevine, Texas. She has also served as medical director of TAMU Schubot Center for Avian Health. Among her research interests have been avian analgesia, avian behavior and enrichment, and avian bornavirus in parrots. A diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners in avian practice, Dr. Hoppes is a past president of the AAV and a past chair of the AAV Avian Welfare Committee and the former AAV Rescue and Sanctuary Committee. She is a member of the AAV Aviculture Committee, serves on the board of directors of the National Parrot Rescue & Preservation Foundation and TAMU Stevenson Companion Animal Life-Care Center for pets whose owners can no longer provide care, and consults with the American Federation of Aviculture.

Markus Drag
Markus Drag
Dr. Duerr
Dr. Rebecca Duerr
Dr. Espunyes
Dr. Johan Espunyes

Research Grant Award
AAV Avian Health Grant: Markus Drag, Copenhagen Zoo, Fredericksburg, Denmark, received $10,000 for “Development and implementation of ultra-sensitive diagnostics for pathogens in zoo-housed and domestic birds.” Wild Bird Health Grants: Dr. Rebecca Duerr, International Bird Rescue, Fairfield, California, received $5,000 for “The lurking big bad: California brown pelicans and DDT,” and Dr. Johan Espunyes, Autonomous University of Barcelona, Bellaterra, Spain, received $4,200 for “Feathers to assess the long-term exposure to NSAIDs in wild raptors.”

AAV House Officer Manuscript Award
Dr. Nicole Mikoni, University of California-Davis, for “Evaluation of weight-bearing, locomotion, thermal antinociception, and footpad size in a Carrageenan-induced inflammatory model in the cockatiel (Nymphicus hollandicus)”

AAV Outstanding Service Awards
Bob Dahlhausen, Milford, Ohio; Brenna Fitzgerald, Denver; Brynn McCleery, Tinton Falls, New Jersey; Anna Osofsky, Carrollton, Texas; Yvonne van Zeeland, Utrecht, The Netherlands; and Ashley Zehnder, Newark, California


Dr. Osofsky
Dr. Anna Osofsky
Dr.  Lamb
Dr. Stephanie Lamb

Drs. Anna Osofsky, Carrollton, Texas, president; Stephanie Lamb, Phoenix, president-elect; Len Donato, Wayne, Pennsylvania, treasurer; and Byron De La Navarre, Chicago, immediate past president and conference chair

A version of this article appears in the December 2022 print issue of JAVMA.