American College of Zoological Medicine – November 6, 2023


The American College of Zoological Medicine (ACZM) held its annual meeting virtually on November 6, 2023.


Dr. Murray Fowler Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Scott B. Citino
Dr. Scott B. Citino

Dr. Scott B. Citino (Ohio State ’83), Yulee, Florida, won this award, given for exceptional commitment and contributions to the ACZM while making significant lifetime contributions that have advanced the discipline of zoological medicine. A diplomate and a past president of the ACZM, Dr. Citino has served as the staff veterinarian at White Oak Conservation in Yulee for more than three decades. He also serves as a clinical associate professor at the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Citino previously worked at the National Zoological Park in Washington, D.C., and what is now known as Zoo Miami. He serves as a scientific adviser for several organizations, including the International Rhino Foundation, Morris Animal Foundation, and Cheetah Conservation Fund, and for the Wildlife Conservation Global Okapi Conservation Project. Dr. Citino is a past president of the American Association of Zoo Veterinarians.

ACZM Student Manuscript Award

Dr. Anthony Cerreta
Dr. Anthony Cerreta

Dr. Anthony Cerreta, Chicago, for “Bioencapsulation is a feasible method of terbinafine administration in Emydomyces testavorans-infected western pond turtles (Actinemys marmorata).” Dr. Cerreta is a veterinarian at the Shedd Aquarium in Chicago.

President’s Award

Drs. Sathya Chinnadurai, Chicago; Jennifer D’Agostino, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; Steve Divers, Athens, Georgia; Anne Justice-Allen, Phoenix; Olivia Petritz, Raleigh, North Carolina; and Betsy Stringer, Orlando, Florida

New diplomates

Kailey Anderson, Livingston, New Jersey; Andrea Aplasca, Baltimore; Trinita Barboza, Worcester, Massachusetts; Megan Cabot, Phoenixville, Pennsylvania; Anthony Cerreta, Chicago; Sarah Chaney, Washington, D.C.; Jane Christman, Ferndale, Michigan; Ophelia Cojean, Vannes, France; Elizabeth Falendysz, Madison, Wisconsin; Garret Fraess, Yulee, Florida; Samuel Frei, Adliswil, Switzerland; Melissa Hanson, Dryden, New York; Caitlin Hepps-Keeney, Raleigh, North Carolina; Cynthia Hopf, McLean, New York; Marion Jalenques, Coupvray, France; Melissa Joblon, Quincy, Massachusetts; Barbara Linnehan, San Diego; Amelie Mathieu, Cranbrook, British Colombia; Julianne McCready, Stillwater, Oklahoma; Michael McEntire, Helotes, Texas; Sarah Miller, Decatur, Georgia; Sophie Moittie, Lance Aux Epines, Grenada; Roman Potier, Pays de la Loire, France; Yasmeen Prudhomme, Chicago; Juliette Raulic, Saint Hyacinthe, Quebec; Josephine Rose, Sherwood, Oregon; Gregory Scott, Mableton, Georgia; Lauren Smith, Salt Lake City; Joanna Webb, West Chester, Pennsylvania; Tatiana Weisbrod, Gainesville, Florida; and Omar Zaheer, Whitby, Ontario


In 2023, the college administered the annual qualifying and certifying examinations virtually, finalized the revision of job task analysis, and added a second member at large to the executive committee. Dr. Matt Allender, Urbana, Illinois, was elected to serve as the member at large, representing the discipline of wildlife population health. The ACZM Wildlife Ad Hoc Working Group was transitioned to the Wildlife Population Health Subcommittee and the Zoological Companion Animal Task Force was transitioned to the Zoological Companion Animal Subcommittee. The ACZM administered three examination preparation courses during 2023, conducted in a hybrid in-person and online format. The college submitted its triennial in depth status report to the American Board of Veterinary Specialties.


Dr. Christopher Bonar
Dr. Christopher Bonar
Dr. Jennifer D’Agostino
Dr. Jennifer D'Agostino

Drs. Christopher Bonar, Boston, president; Jennifer D’Agostino, Oklahoma City, vice president; Krista Keller, Davis, California, secretary; Gretchen Cole, Oklahoma City, treasurer; and Doug Whiteside, Calgary, Alberta, immediate past president

A version of this story appears in the March 2024 print issue of JAVMA