American College of Zoological Medicine - March 1, 2022


Virtual meeting, Nov. 8, 2021


Dr. Miller
Dr. R. Eric Miller

Dr. Murray Fowler Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. R. Eric Miller (Ohio State ’79), St. Louis, won this award given for exceptional commitment and contributions to the ACZM while making significant lifetime contributions that have advanced the discipline of zoological medicine. A diplomate and a past president of the ACZM, Dr. Miller serves as senior counsel at Zoo Advisors, a planning and consulting firm, and recently retired after more than 40 years at the St. Louis Zoo. During his tenure at the zoo, he served as staff veterinarian, directed animal health and conservation, was executive director of the zoo’s WildCare Institute, and served as senior vice president and director of zoological operations. Dr. Miller’s vision led to the creation of the zoo’s Institute for Conservation Medicine, expanding conservation efforts to incorporate principles of wildlife epidemiology, one health, and veterinary medicine. He has served on the editorial board of the Journal of Zoo and Wildlife Medicine and co-edited the Fowler’s Zoo and Wild Animal Medicine textbook series.

Dr. McClain
Dr. Abby McClain
Dr. Perrin
Dr. Kathryn Perrin

ACZM Student Manuscript Award
Dr. Abby McClain, San Diego, for “Physiologic effects of low salinity exposure on bottlenose dolphins (Tursiops truncates),” and Dr. Kathryn Perrin, San Diego, for “Biological hematology and biochemistry parameters for the Asian elephant (Elephas maximus), and applicability of population derived reference intervals.” Dr. McClain is an associate veterinarian at the National Marine Mammal Foundation in San Diego. Dr. Perrin is a clinical veterinarian for the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance.

Dr. Gilardi
Dr. Kirsten Gilardi
Marisa Hackemann
Marisa Hackemann

President’s Award
Dr. Kirsten Gilardi, Davis, California, and Marisa Hackemann, Nashville, Tennessee. A wildlife veterinarian, Dr. Gilardi serves as a professor at the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, where she is also the assistant director of the Wildlife Health Center. Hackemann, executive administrative assistant for the ACZM, owns MJB Management and serves as an independent consultant, specializing in project management, efficiencies, association management, event management, and strategic planning.

New diplomates

Anthony Ashley, Hixon, Tennessee; Monika Bochmann, Wängi, Switzerland; Rob Browning, Seattle; Valentina Caliendo, Best, The Netherlands; John Flanders, Baltimore; Emma Houck, Lansing, New York; Kari Musgrave, Lebanon, Illinois; Christine Parker-Graham, Olympia, Washington; Meredith Persky, Jacksonville, Florida; Julia Ter Beest, Louisville, Kentucky; Jenny Waldoch, Hales Corners, Wisconsin; and Taylor Yaw, Apple Valley, Minnesota


In 2021, the college updated its strategic plan, administered the annual qualifying and certifying examinations virtually because of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, and incorporated revisions to procedures and policies. The membership also voted on and ratified revisions to the mission statement and elected Drs. Anne Justice-Allen, Phoenix; Jenny Powers, Fort Collins, Colorado; Thierry Work, Honolulu; and Mike Ziccardi, Davis, California, as honorary members. A new Diversity, Equity, Access, and Inclusion Ad Hoc Committee was launched and has initiated activities. Support was granted for two additional committees in 2022, a Member Services Committee and a Mentoring Ad Hoc Committee. It was proposed that two new at-large board members be added to the Executive Committee.


Drs. Doug Whiteside, Calgary, Alberta, president; Christopher Bonar, Boston, vice president; Jennifer D’Agostino, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, secretary; Lisa Harrenstien, Portland, Oregon, treasurer; and Jennifer Langan, Chicago, immediate past president

A version of this article appears in the March 1, 2022, print issue of JAVMA.