American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians – Oct. 6-12, 2022


65th annual meeting, Oct. 6-12, 2022, Minneapolis


E.P. Pope Award

Dr. Elvinger
Dr. Francois Elvinger

Dr. Francois Elvinger, Ithaca, New York. A 1981 graduate of the University of Veterinary Medicine Hanover in Germany, Dr. Elvinger is a professor of veterinary epidemiology in the Department of Population Medicine and Diagnostic Sciences at Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine. He also serves as the executive director of the veterinary college’s Animal Health Diagnostic Center and is associate dean for diagnostic operations and government relations. Dr. Elvinger is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine and European College of Veterinary Public Health.

Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Main
Dr. Rodger Main

Dr. Rodger Main (Iowa State ’96), Ames, Iowa. Dr. Rodger Main is a professor and director of operations for the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory at Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine. His research interests focus on diagnostic medicine, area regional disease control, and swine production medicine. Dr. Main previously served as director of production systems for Murphy-Brown Western Operations.

Outstanding Performance Award for Diagnostic Services

Debra Royal

Debra Royal, Lincoln, Nebraska. Royal serves as quality assurance manager for the Nebraska Veterinary Diagnostic Center at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences. She previously supervised the bacteriology laboratory at the center. Royal is co-chair of the AAVLD Bacteriology Steering Committee and AAVLD Subcommittee on Bacteriology and Mycology.

Pioneer in Virology Award

Dr. Peter Timoney, Lexington, Kentucky. Dr. Timoney earned his veterinary degree in 1964 from the University College Dublin in Ireland. He is a professor emeritus at the University of Kentucky College of Agriculture, Food, and Environment. During his tenure, Dr. Timoney directed the Maxwell H. Gluck Equine Research Center, chaired the Department of Veterinary Science, and held the Frederick Van Lennep Endowed Chair in Equine Veterinary Science. He is a past president of the World Equine Veterinary Association.

Richard L. Walker Bacteriology Award, sponsored by Anaerobe Systems

Macy Rasmussen, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, for the presentation “Evaluation of artificial neural network-based classifier models to discriminate phenotypes of Salmonella enterica using Fourier-transform infrared spectroscopy (FT-IR)”

J. Lindsay Oaks Best Student Molecular Biology Presentation Award, sponsored by Veterinary Medical Research & Development

Sai Narayanan, Oklahoma State University, for the presentation “Development and evaluation of MG2Vec: a transformer neural network for metagenomic shotgun sequencing based BRD pathogen detection”

Brenda Love Best Student Bacteriology Poster Presentation Award, sponsored by BioMerieux

Jessica Santos Streauslin, Iowa State University, for the presentation “Characterization of disease-associated and non–disease associated Streptococcus suis isolates from pen-matched diseased and control pigs”

AAVLD/ACVP Diagnostic Pathology Resident/Graduate Student Award

Jayne Summer Ellis, Michigan State University, for the presentation “Acute inhalation toxicity in nine American white ibis (Eudocimus albus) following exposure to triethylene glycol and propylene glycol containing theatrical fog”

ACVP/AAVLD Diagnostic Pathology Resident/Graduate Student Travel Award

Carmen Smith, Michigan State University, for the presentation “In situ hybridization for Escherichia coli in canine granulomatous colitis”

Diagnostic Pathology Slide Seminar Resident/Graduate Student Award

First place ($300): C. Hsueh, Iowa State University, for the presentation “Cerebral vasculitis and necrotizing encephalitis in a great-horned owlet caused by highly pathogenic avian influenza (EA/AM clade H5N1)”; second place ($200): D.F. Barrantes Murillo, Auburn University, for the presentation “Thymic cavernous hemangioma and cystic thymic degeneration in a dog”; and third place ($100): N. Streitenberger, University of California-Davis, for the presentation “Influenza outbreak in wild donkeys”

Best Poster Presentation Award

McKenzie Sparrer, Colorado State University, for the presentation “Surveillance of companion and exotic animals for SARS-Cov-2 and evaluating transmission potential within veterinary medicine”

Best Oral Presentation Award

Berenice Munguia-Ramirez, Iowa State University, for the presentation “Use of a porcine endogenous reference gene (internal sample control) in a RRRSV RT-qPCR”

Best Recorded Presentation Award

Catie Burgess, University of Virginia, for the presentation “Pooling series to determine sensitivity loss in Theileria orientalis surveillance testing”

Journal of Veterinary Diagnostic Investigation Best Manuscript Award

Kaiping Deng, Food and Drug Administration, for the presentation “Interlaboratory comparison of SARS-CoV2 molecular detection assays in use by U.S. veterinary diagnostic laboratories”

Journal of Veterinary Diagnostic Investigation Best Brief Communication Award

Alyson H. Fitzgerald, Kansas State University, for the presentation “Detecting and quantifying marijuana metabolites in serum and urine of 19 dogs affected by marijuana toxicity”

Life Membership

Drs. Stephen P. Schmidt, Fitchburg, Wisconsin, and Jim Evermann, Pullman, Washington


Dr. Burrough
Dr. Eric Burrough
Dr. Poulsen
Dr. Keith Poulsen

Drs. Eric Burrough, Ames, Iowa, president; Keith Poulsen, Madison, Wisconsin, president-elect and program chair; Tanya LeRoith, Blacksburg, Virginia, vice president; Kristy Pabilonia, Fort Collins, Colorado, secretary-treasurer; Jeremiah T. Saliki, Stillwater, Oklahoma, immediate past president; and David H. Zeman, Brookings, South Dakota, executive director