American Association of Equine Practitioners - May 2022

March 30, 2022


67th Annual Convention, Dec. 4-8, 2021, Nashville, Tennessee


The convention offered equine practitioners the ability to reestablish industry relationships and to acquire solutions for patient health and practice success. The event drew more than 3,500 attendees, including veterinarians, veterinary students, and exhibitors. The convention also offered a virtual option via on-demand access to recorded educational sessions. The Frank J. Milne State-of-the-Art Lecture was delivered by Dr. Jean-Marie Denoix, founder of the Center of Imaging and Research on Equine Locomotor Affections in Normandy, France. Dr. Denoix’s lecture was titled, “A Look at Lameness Through the Eyes of Functional Anatomy (and Biomechanics).”


Dr. Santschi
Dr. Elizabeth Santschi

Distinguished Educator–Academic Award
Dr. Elizabeth Santschi (Illinois ’84), Manhattan, Kansas. Dr. Santschi is a professor of equine surgery at Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine. She previously served on the veterinary faculties of Purdue University, the University of Minnesota, the University of Wisconsin, and The Ohio State University. Dr. Santschi is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons and an ACVS Honored Mentor. She was recognized for her influence on veterinary students, interns, residents, and the practice of veterinary medicine during her three decades in academia.

Dr. Tomlinson
Dr. Joy Tomlinson

Research Award
Dr. Joy Tomlinson (Cornell ’10), Brooktondale, New York. A diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine, Dr. Tomlinson is a clinician and lecturer at Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine’s Equine Hospital and a research associate at the Baker Institute for Animal Health. Her research into four recently discovered equine hepatitis viruses has helped revolutionize the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of equine liver disease.

Dr. Bramlage
Dr. Larry Bramlage

Sage Kester Beyond the Call Award
Dr. Larry Bramlage (Kansas State ’75), Lexington, Kentucky. An equine orthopedic surgeon, Dr. Bramlage is a partner at Rood & Riddle Equine Hospital in Lexington. He previously served as an associate professor of equine surgery at The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine. A diplomate of the ACVS, Dr. Bramlage has advanced the diagnostics and treatment options for horses with orthopedic disease and injury through research and application into clinical practice. He was honored for his legacy of service toward the betterment of the veterinary profession, horse health, and his local community.

Distinguished Service Award
Dr. James “Jim” Morehead (Missouri ’83), Lexington, Kentucky. Dr. Morehead is a founding partner of Equine Medical Associates in Lexington. He is a past treasurer of the AAEP and a past chair of the AAEP Professional Conduct and Ethics Committee, Finance Committee, and Drug Compounding Task Force. A past president of the Kentucky Association of Equine Practitioners, Dr. Morehead is a member of the Kentucky Equine Drug Research Council and co-chair of the Equine Species Working Group within the American Horse Council on the issue of the National Animal Identification System. He was honored for his volunteer leadership within the AAEP and the horse industry during his 37-year career.

Distinguished Life Member
Dr. William “Bill” Moyer (Colorado State ’70), Billings, Montana. He retired in 2015 as a professor emeritus from Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences. A past president of the AAEP, he has chaired the AAEP Nominating and Equine Insurance committees and has served on the AAEP Farrier Liaison, Professional Conduct and Ethics, Public Policy, and Racing committees. Dr. Moyer is active with the Foundation for the Horse, assisting in disaster medicine. He was honored for his consequential leadership and service to the AAEP during his 51 years of membership.

President’s Award
Drs. Carol Clark (Texas A&M ’91), Ocala, Florida, and Amy Grice (Pennsylvania ’90), Virginia City, Montana. A diplomate of the ACVIM, Dr. Clark is a partner at Peterson Smith Equine Hospital + Complete Care in Ocala and is a past chair of the AAEP’s Retention Task Force. Dr. Grice is a veterinary business consultant in Virginia City. She developed the Decade One program, providing education on topics important for professional career development for equine practitioners in their first 10 years of practice or first 10 years of practice ownership, while offering an opportunity to form a network of their peers for ongoing support. Drs. Clark and Grice have been integral in tackling the ongoing issue of retention and recruitment of equine veterinarians.


Updates were provided on several initiatives in the strategic plan, including a final report from the AAEP Retention Task Force. Several of the AAEP’s committees and task forces shared work reports. The Foundation for the Horse unveiled plans for a $10 million comprehensive fundraising campaign and awarded four veterinary students with the 2021 Coyote Rock Ranch Veterinary Scholarships of $75,000 each. Several other scholarships were presented to veterinary students during the convention.


Dr. Read
Dr. Emma Read
Dr. Franklin
Dr. Rob Franklin

Drs. Emma Read, Columbus, Ohio, president; Rob Franklin, Fredericksburg, Texas, president-elect; Katherine Garrett, Lexington, Kentucky, vice president; Amy Grice, Virginia City, Montana, treasurer; and Scott Hay, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, immediate past president

A version of this article appears in the May 2022 print issue of JAVMA.