AAHA announces inaugural winner of Veterinary Technician of the Year Award

Nicole Jameson-Fritz

The American Animal Hospital Association announced in November that it has named registered veterinary technician Nicole Jameson-Fritz as the association’s first winner of the Veterinary Technician of the Year Award, which celebrates the outstanding work that veterinary technicians do every day in their practices.

Jameson-Fritz of Canada West Veterinary Specialists in Vancouver, British Columbia, was nominated for her “overriding concern and responsibility for her patients” as well as her problem-solving and troubleshooting abilities.

“Not only is she devoted to her craft, but she has also been a leader, teacher and role model for all our technical staff at every level,” said Dr. Alan B. Kuzma, a founding partner with Canada West Veterinary Specialists, in the AAHA announcement about the award.

The finalists were certified veterinary technician Michelle Frank, Caring Pathways, Berthoud, Colorado; certified veterinary technician Andrea Lombardi, Angell at Nashoba, Westford, Massachusetts; and registered veterinary technician Lisa Shoebridge, Burnhamthorpe Animal Hospital, Mississauga, Ontario.