JAVMA News logo

December 01, 2021

American Association of Zoo Veterinarians

Published on November 17, 2021


Virtual annual meeting, Oct. 4


AAZV Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Tom Meehan (Missouri ’77), Chicago. Dr. Meehan is vice president of veterinary services for the Chicago Zoological Society and the society’s Brookfield Zoo in Brookfield, Illinois, outside Chicago. He also serves on the veterinary advisory team for the Gorilla Species Survival Plan. Dr. Meehan is a past president of the AAZV.

Emil Dolensek Award
Dr. Paul Calle (Pennsylvania ’83), New York City. Dr. Calle serves as vice president of health programs for the Wildlife Conservation Society and chief veterinarian and director of zoological health for the society’s four zoos and aquariums. He is a diplomate of the American College of Zoological Medicine and European College of Zoological Medicine.


Drs. Jessica Siegal-Willott, Washington, D.C., president; Michelle Davis, Atlanta, president-elect; Allison Tuttle, Mystic, Connecticut, vice president; Sharon Deem, St. Louis, secretary; Lauren Howard, Escondido, California, treasurer; and Leigh Clayton, Boston, immediate past president