JAVMA News logo

October 15, 2021

Society for Theriogenology

Published on


Annual conference, July 21-24, Omaha, Nebraska


The plenary sessions were “History of the ACT: Celebrating 50 Years” by Dr. John Kastelic, Alberta, and “Surrogate Sires: A Next Generation Breeding Tool in Livestock Production” by Dr. Jon Oatley, Pullman, Washington, both sponsored by the American College of Theriogenologists. Forty-one scientific abstracts, 12 poster presentations, and eight case reports were presented at the conference. One research presentation and nine case presentations by veterinary students were also provided during the student session at the conference.


Dr. Schlafer
Dr. Donald Schlafer

David E. Bartlett Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Donald Schlafer (Cornell ’74), Alpine, New York. Prior to retirement, Dr. Schlafer was a professor of veterinary pathology at Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, where his work in veterinary pathology and research in reproductive pathology centered on placental disorders and diseases. He is a diplomate of the American College of Theriogenologists, American College of Veterinary Pathologists, and American College of Veterinary Microbiologists. Dr. Schlafer has served as treasurer of the ACT and as a member of the ACT Examination Committee.

Dr. Thompson
Dr. Mike Thompson

Dr. John Steiner Award for Excellence in Practice
Dr. Mike Thompson (Mississippi State ’87), Holly Springs, Mississippi. Dr. Thompson owns Willow Bend Animal Clinic in Holly Springs, Mississippi. He previously practiced in Ripley, Tennessee, and in Mississippi at Tupelo and Guntown. A diplomate of the ACT, he is a past president of the SFT and has served as president of the Theriogenology Foundation since 2020.

Dr. Jerry Rains Memorial Abstract Competition, sponsored by Merck Animal Health

First place ($1,000)—Dr. Viviane C. L. Gomes, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, for “The effects of kisspeptin-10 on equine chorionic girdle trophoblast cell in vitro migration”; second place ($750)—Dr. Julia Zuercher, Mooresville, North Carolina, for “Comparing serum progesterone measurements by a point-of-care analyzer with a chemiluminescent immunoassay in breeding management of the bitch”; third place ($500)—Grace Edwards, Athens, Georgia, for “Laser ablation of the equine oviductal papilla as a novel contraceptive technique”; and fourth place ($250)—Dr. Christian Bisiau, Fort Collins, Colorado, for “Comparison of nanoparticles and single-layer centrifugation for separation of dead from live stallion spermatozoa”

Veterinary Student Case Presentation Competition, sponsored by Bovine Services

First place ($650)—Camille Ogdon, St. George’s University, for “Vulvar discharge associated with exogenous estrogen exposure in a spayed Weimaraner bitch”; second place, tie ($487.50)—Rachel Doenges, Mississippi State University, for “Phimosis and preputial abscessation with draining tract in an Angus bull”; second place, tie ($487.50)—Vaiva Palunas, Washington State University, for “Recurrent uterine torsion in an Arabian mare”; fourth place ($375)—Hannah Neer, University of California-Davis, for “Spermatic cord torsion in an Arabian stallion”; fifth place ($300)—Taylor Lashlee, University of Tennessee, for “Electroejaculation and breeding soundness exam on a clouded leopard”; and sixth place ($200)—Jordan Farrell, Auburn University, for “Abnormal mobility in neonatal Labrador Retrievers”


The society is continuing to work on strengthening its journal, Clinical Theriogenology, on the basis of input and contributions from the membership. Efforts are underway to develop standards for frozen semen across multiple species, and the society is continuing to develop additional platforms for access to educational content. The Theriogenology Foundation, with support from the society and the ACT, announced the Nandi Scholarship program for veterinary students and awarded $10,000 scholarships to the first four recipients at the conference.


Dr. Tibary
Dr. Ahmed Tibary

Drs. Ahmed Tibary, Pullman, Washington, president; Dan Tracy, Auburn, Kentucky, president-elect; William Whitler, Corvallis, Oregon, vice president; Jack Smith, Starkville, Mississippi, immediate past president; and board members—Drs. Marthina Greer, Lomira, Wisconsin; Michelle Kutzler, Philomath, Oregon; and Clare Scully, Baton Rouge, Louisiana