JAVMA News logo

September 15, 2021

Florida VMA

Published on August 25, 2021


Annual conference, July 8-11, Orlando


Dr. Richmond
Dr. Philip Richmond

Veterinarian of the Year
Dr. Philip Richmond (Florida ’06), New Port Richey. Dr. Richmond practices at Country Oaks Animal Hospital in New Port Richey. He has a special interest in anesthesia and pain management, dentistry, soft-tissue and orthopedic surgery, radiology, and cardiology. Dr. Richmond serves as chair of the FVMA Wellness and Well-being Committee and the FVMA Outreach Committee. He provides assistance to medical professionals in recovery from addiction.

Dr. Woodby
Dr. John Steven Woodby

Distinguished Service Award
Dr. John Steven Woodby (Tennessee ’81), Miami. Dr. Woodby is the founder of Calusa Crossing Animal Hospital in Miami. He is a past president of the South Florida VMA and has served on the FVMA Outreach Committee for more than two decades, chairing it from 2010-18. Dr. Woodby provides peer assistance to members of the veterinary profession who are suffering from addiction and who are injured, impaired, or infirm.

Dr. Whitlock
Dr. Janet Whitlock

Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Janet Whitlock (Iowa State ’76), Sarasota. Dr. Whitlock is the founder of Beneva Animal Hospital in Sarasota, which is accredited by the American Animal Hospital Association. She also helped establish an emergency clinic in Sarasota County. Dr. Whitlock is a past president of the FVMA and Southwest Florida VMA.

President’s Award
This award was presented posthumously to Philip Hinkle (see obituary, Oct. 15, 2020, JAVMA). Hinkle began working for the FVMA as director of finance and membership in 1986. In 2007, he became the association’s executive director, serving in that position until 2020. Hinkle was an advocate for veterinarians, veterinary technicians, practice managers, and veterinary assistants in Florida.

Gold Star Awards
Drs. Mario Cabrera, Margate; Melanie Donofro, Tallahassee; Robert Encinosa, Riverview; Robert B. Swinger, Fort Lauderdale; and Abigail Walls, Orange Park


Dr. Sutliff
Dr. Richard Sutliff
Dr. Lista
Dr. Marta P. Lista

Drs. Richard Sutliff, Bradenton, president; Marta P. Lista, West Miami, president-elect; Donald H. Morgan, Largo, treasurer; Mary Smart, Bradenton, immediate past president; and AVMA delegate and alternate delegate—Drs. Ernest C. Godfrey, Pinellas Park, and Richard B. Williams, Jacksonville