JAVMA News logo

April 15, 2021

United States Animal Health Association

Published on


124th annual meeting, held virtually, Oct. 6-24, 2020


The meeting, held jointly with the American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians (see story), drew nearly 1,600 virtual attendees. Bill Even, chief executive officer of the National Pork Board, presented the keynote address on lessons learned from COVID-19.


Dr. Styles
Dr. Darrel Styles

USAHA Federal Partnership Award
Dr. Darrel Styles (North Carolina State ’87), Riverdale, Maryland. Dr. Styles is a senior staff veterinarian in the Diagnostics and Biologics unit of the U.S. Department of Agriculture Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service’s Veterinary Services. He has worked tirelessly in the area of foreign animal disease to improve USDA preparedness and response policy, outreach, and programs. Dr. Styles’ outreach efforts include lecturing to professional and lay groups, including regulatory agencies and academic groups, on diseases affecting U.S. livestock, especially foot-and-mouth disease, classical and African swine fevers, and influenzas.

Dr. Clifford
Dr. John Clifford

USAHA Medal of Distinction
Dr. John Clifford (Missouri ’83), Bowling Green, Kentucky. Dr. Clifford is president of Clifford Veterinary Consulting. From 2004-16, he served as deputy administrator of the U.S. Department of Agriculture Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service’s Veterinary Services. During that time, he also served as chief veterinary officer of the USDA. Early in his career, Dr. Clifford practiced mixed animal medicine in Kentucky.

APHIS Administrator’s Award and National Assembly Award
Dr. Michael Neault (Michigan State ’96), Raleigh, North Carolina, won both awards. Dr. Neault was recently appointed as South Carolina state veterinarian and director of Clemson University Livestock and Poultry Health. He previously served as director of livestock animal health programs in the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services’ Veterinary Division. As director, Dr. Neault coordinated and hosted recurring crucial conversations and communications on behalf of the National Assembly of State Animal Health Officials regarding preparedness for African swine fever and regarding the challenges posed by the impact of COVID-19 on processing plants, resulting in significantly reduced processing capacity. He was honored with the National Assembly Award in recognition of his tireless efforts in collaboration and communication for several significant issues among states this past year.


Thirteen resolutions were approved. Also approved and passed were updated bylaws that modernized language for current operations and addressed interim succession of officer vacancies, should they occur.


Dr. Hatcher
Dr. Charlie Hatcher
Dr. Oedekoven
Dr. Dustin Oedekoven

Dr. Charlie Hatcher, Nashville, Tennessee, president; Dr. Dustin Oedekoven, Pierre, South Dakota, president-elect; Steve Rommereim, Alcester, South Dakota, first vice president; Dr. Manoel Tamassia, Trenton, New Jersey, second vice president; Dr. Peter Mundschenk, Phoenix, third vice president; Dr. Beth Thompson, St. Paul, Minnesota, treasurer; and Dr. Marty Zaluski, Helena, Montana, immediate past president